It is currently 19 Apr 2024, 02:25

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 
 Post subject: Questions Regarding "The Little Mermaid" audio on LD
PostPosted: 27 Aug 2013, 17:39 
Hi,

I am new to LaserDisc and am trying to understand the audio technology as well as the different audio mixes for "The Little Mermaid." I have listed my questions below. I would appreciate any information that can be provided about LD audio and the various "The Little Mermaid" LD releases.

1) Many of the "Mermaid" LD list digital and analog audio options. In regards to 14795 CS in the database, it lists Dolby Surround and some are Dolby Digital. Is Dolby Surround 4.0 (left, right, center, one rear) and Dolby Digital 5.1? Also, what does Analog Left and Analog Right mean?

2) The 14795 CS lists Dolby Digital under "Analog Right." Does this mean that Dolby Digital isn't the digital track?

3) Is the digital audio on LD (specifically "The Little Mermaid") better quality than DVD audio?

4) How many different LD audio mixes are there for "The Little Mermaid"? I've read that the 1997 LD features remixed audio. Which releases contain 5.1 digital audio?

5) In regards to spoken languages (other than English), are the additional spoken languages also in either Dolby Surround or Dolby Digital? How can you tell by looking at the database?

Thank you in advance for taking the time to answer any and all of these questions. I'm trying to understand what all these different terms mean and any help would be appreciated.

Post subject: Re: Questions Regarding "The Little Mermaid" audio on LD
PostPosted: 28 Aug 2013, 02:09 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight

When LD was first on sale there were only analog stereo soundtracks, pretty much like video tape.

Later on Pioneer figure out how to add CD quality digital sound without taking anything away so most discs after 1989 or so have two stereo soundtracks, one analog, one digital.