It is currently 18 Nov 2018, 22:23




 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Yamaha APD-2 Question
PostPosted: 28 Jun 2018, 17:35 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 2017, 01:05
Posts: 19
Location: United States
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
I recently purchased one of these from Japan. I live in the US so I was wondering if anyone knows if i'll need a voltage converter and if so what kind?

Thanks!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-2 Question
PostPosted: 28 Jun 2018, 17:40 
Serious fan
Serious fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 195
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 21 times
It depends on the unit that you purchased.

If the unit was meant for international use, they usually come with a built in step up / step down converter switch. It would usually be a dial control or slide switch located on the back near the the AC cord.

If the unit was just meant for the Japanese market, it will need to be "stepped up" w/ an external converter from 100VAC to the US 120VAC.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-2 Question
PostPosted: 28 Jun 2018, 17:49 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 2095
Location: APAC
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 89 times
ldfan wrote:
If the unit was just meant for the Japanese market, it will need to be "stepped up" w/ an external converter from 100VAC to the US 120VAC.


Actually it's the other way around, you'll need to "step down" the 120V US down to 100V Japan.

But APD-2 is probably 5~6W only, a very little one will be enough.

Julien
_________________
LDDb on Facebook!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-2 Question
PostPosted: 28 Jun 2018, 20:30 
Jedi Initiate
Jedi Initiate
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 2010, 09:44
Posts: 2803
Location: United States
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 55 times
I’ve run tons of JDM gear on US outlets for decades. I’ve never seen anything complain. I’m not saying that something won’t like it but I don’t think a device like this would care.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-2 Question
PostPosted: 16 Jul 2018, 16:56 
Knows how to post
Knows how to post
User avatar

Joined: 22 Jul 2013, 01:13
Posts: 12
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Some say small amounts won't hurt, eg. 100 to 120v. The UK gear is the big one to watch out for in different voltages.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-2 Question
PostPosted: 16 Jul 2018, 17:59 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 4870
Location: United States
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 51 times
I had a similar unit that I didn't even pay attention to the 100-120 deal, it ran fine straight into the wall outlet but I only owned it for about
1 year then sold it off and didn't use it on a daily basis.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-2 Question
PostPosted: 10 Sep 2018, 12:38 
Third post and above
Third post and above
User avatar

Joined: 18 May 2018, 12:08
Posts: 7
Location: Sweden
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time
phobicpanda wrote:
I recently purchased one of these from Japan. I live in the US so I was wondering if anyone knows if i'll need a voltage converter and if so what kind?

Thanks!


How did it go? did you get a step down converter or did you plug it in to the mains running it on 110/120V
_________________
CLD D925
CLD D504
CLD 950
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: