It is currently 22 Feb 2018, 21:26




 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: MUSE titles not "filling" the screen
PostPosted: 25 Oct 2017, 19:23 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 21 Dec 2002, 18:44
Posts: 634
Location: United States
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times
Here's my setup:
HLD-X9
MSC-4000 MUSE

The output from the decoder feeds into my Yamaha receiver which converts to HDMI to feed my 50" Sony display. This works great except I have this 'dead' area at the top of the screen, almost as if the vertical height of the output is wrong. It's only about 1/2 inch, but still somewhat annoying. Any suggestions?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MUSE titles not "filling" the screen
PostPosted: 25 Oct 2017, 20:46 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 01 May 2016, 06:38
Posts: 695
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 10 times
Use any scaler like a DVDO VP50.

The underscan thing on this is the greatest thing I've ever had!!
_________________
Sony HIL C1 -> Loumaform Reediate 2144 - > Sony VPL-VW760ES
..I wish..
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MUSE titles not "filling" the screen
PostPosted: 26 Oct 2017, 14:32 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 16 Jun 2015, 15:40
Posts: 442
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Essentially you're showing a picture with 1035 visible lines on a 1080 display, so hence your 'dead area'.

Also Muse titles were released in the era of CRT and basically everything was set up with an overscan. I make sure to have that turned off on my displays, which is fine with BD but at first with Muse I had space/dead area all around the image. Your display must have overscan enabled.

Either way the only way to 'fix' it is with some kind of video scaling/zoom.
_________________
HLD-X9/HM-D101/TU-MDC100, Lumagen 2144, Epson EH-TW5500. For PAL CLD-925.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MUSE titles not "filling" the screen
PostPosted: 26 Oct 2017, 23:34 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 21 Dec 2002, 18:44
Posts: 634
Location: United States
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times
That totally makes sense to me. I do have the overscan enabled.

Thanks!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MUSE titles not "filling" the screen
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2017, 08:25 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 23 Sep 2003, 18:14
Posts: 1391
Location: United States
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 17 times
In fact, although the studio Hi-Vision standard has 1035 active lines, MUSE has only 1032. A few samples are cut off at right & left sides, as well. Presumably, when the encoding was being developed, it was expected that CRT overscan would hide the edges anyway. So the picture will be just a smidgeon smaller than a full 1080×1920.
_________________
MUSE decoder information and user guides
LD player connexion guide
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MUSE titles not "filling" the screen
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2017, 09:14 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 16 Jun 2015, 15:40
Posts: 442
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Thanks Publius; now I do remember reading about 1032, probably on your Muse website!
_________________
HLD-X9/HM-D101/TU-MDC100, Lumagen 2144, Epson EH-TW5500. For PAL CLD-925.
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: