It is currently 18 Apr 2024, 07:28

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: CLD-3080 issues
PostPosted: 19 Aug 2017, 01:48 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity

Hello,
I'm back. Not sure if this is the correct forum to post this in, but it seems the most fitting. If not, please move the thread to the appropriate location.

I recently picked up a CLD-3080 and it has some issues. The seller I purchased the unit from stated that the player was in working condition, but right off the bat I noticed two main problems: 1) The player won't play discs on the B side. Not a huge deal as I can flip the disc manually, but I would like to fix this problem. 2) On the first disc I played, I was getting horrible crosstalk. I figured I could fix this by adjusting the pots inside the unit. (I'm a professional engineer so this comes naturally to me). Oddly, by adjusting the pots I was able to correct the crosstalk, however now I have a new issue. I get some sort of "tracking" error. For whatever reason, the picture "jumps" at random, always a fixed distance from the top of the screen, leaving what looks like black and white static at the top of the display. This player doesn't seem to have tracking controls specific to each side of the disc like some other players I have seen on this forum. I was hoping this would be the case so I could at least get side B playback to function again.

I'm guessing that I'm going to need to do some sort of non-electrical, mechanical adjustment of the optics to fix the playback issues. Not looking forward to that.

There doesn't appear to be any obvious signs of sticking in the optics mechanisms. When operating side B playback, the disc spins up part way as if the disc is about to play and then suddenly stops.