It is currently 26 Apr 2024, 06:58

Page 1 of 2 [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Hello to everyone
PostPosted: 25 Mar 2017, 13:47 
Honest fan
Honest fan

Have been a laserdisc fan since more than 30 years: I bought my first Laserdisc (Star Wars) and LD player (Philips VLP-720) back in 1985 in Munich/Germany - so I am a kind of veteran now? Half of my laserdisc collection I have bought before 2000 - as a matter of course for the original prize - the other half of my collection I bought much later when they were sold at a loss ...

For me the most interesting about the Laserdisc was to see its technical evolution "live": more and more features were added over the years - features that younger people now take for granted when they use their Blu-ray player or media center streaming.

My LD collection is not huge, just moderate because of limits in money and space ;-). But in the moment nearly all of my stuff is packed away for another half a year because I am still in the train of moving from Europe to Japan. Now I live in the "homeland of the LD", however in a rural area where the nearest two "Hard Off" shops are 50-60 km away (and one of them has recently stopped selling Laserdiscs) ... and Tokyo is about 800 km away.

Recently I have renewed my account in the LDDb and started browsing through this forum that is still new to me, so I say hello to everybody that is still here to enjoy the great old format Laserdisc that most other people have already forgotten.

Post subject: Re: Hello to everyone
PostPosted: 26 Mar 2017, 00:16 
Absolute fan
Absolute fan

Cool intro, welcome. Are you going to move all your LDs to Japan with you or start a separate collection in Japan?

PostPosted: 26 Mar 2017, 00:39 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan

Welcome to the forum and good luck with the move! Nice introduction, I loved hearing your evolving story with laserdisc.