It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 13:06

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 
 Post subject: Total Newbie With A Forming Interest
PostPosted: 20 Sep 2018, 06:35 
Third post and above
Third post and above

Hello all!

I've been a browser of LDDb for some months, finally decided to take the plunge and open a dialog as I've recently won an auction that's made me truly consider working out a decent LD/VHS to Computer capture setup in the near future.

I'm a big fan of somewhat obscure movies (absolute favourites: 200 Motels, Murder By Death and HEAD to name a few) but I'm also slowly getting into a few animes, two of which are very much of the Laserdisc era, Dirty Pair and Slayers.

For Slayers, I've recently managed to acquire all three LD season boxes, Movies and two OVA for a pretty good price. I've inspected them and they've come with nearly all the original inserts, and the discs themselves are still in that U-shaped plastic and look great.

I didn't expect to be able to collect such a bounty so soon! I'm also a fan of some "Saturday morning" cartoons and neither did I expect a copy of the first Darkwing Duck LD twofer to show on eBay recently, I have the VHSes and DVDs of that cartoon but bought the LD as soon as I saw it listed, it's not as clean, but was still in the old shrink wrap which was nice.