It is currently 20 Oct 2018, 03:35




 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Analog Video overscan default values
PostPosted: 18 Feb 2018, 13:08 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 2086
Location: APAC
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 89 times
Hello!

I recently sold a copy of Video Essentials (1996) [ID3487ISF] and I was running it again tonight out of curiosity to make sure my HLD-X9 and my Radiance 2144 were going nicely together.

But at the "Overscan" test pattern I realized that a significant portion at the top was cropped by default.
Indeed HDMI settings set Top/Left/Bottom/Right offset to 0 but Analog Video has non-0 values predefined.

Did you all fine-tuned yours?

Julien
_________________
LDDb on Facebook!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analog Video overscan default values
PostPosted: 18 Feb 2018, 14:15 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 16 Jun 2015, 15:40
Posts: 560
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 15 times
Absolutely, those default values actually result in an oval circle - noticed and couldn't stand it from the start, no idea how or why they decided on those.. Mine is set to show the maximum possible picture without unwanted artefacts with VE very minor fine tuning after that and then nice round circles of course.
I will happily go out on the limb to say that while without any doubt Lumagen has by far the best scaling, I'm more than once left wondering in some other areas.....
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analog Video overscan default values
PostPosted: 06 Mar 2018, 01:02 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 11 Oct 2015, 16:35
Posts: 357
Location: United States
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 12 times
There has to be a way to correct this, it doesn't do it for HDMI source...
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analog Video overscan default values
PostPosted: 12 Jun 2018, 21:55 
Genuinely interested
Genuinely interested
User avatar

Joined: 07 Nov 2017, 05:22
Posts: 45
Location: United States
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time
I adjusted what I think is the max as far as the top goes and this is the best I could get? Compared to running the X0 straight into my capture device you can really see a significant portion of the top still cut off. Is this what everyone is getting?


Attachments:
X0 to 2144.jpg
X0 to 2144.jpg [ 68.02 KiB | Viewed 348 times ]
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analog Video overscan default values
PostPosted: 14 Jun 2018, 16:32 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 11 Oct 2015, 16:35
Posts: 357
Location: United States
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 12 times
clashradio wrote:
I adjusted what I think is the max as far as the top goes and this is the best I could get? Compared to running the X0 straight into my capture device you can really see a significant portion of the top still cut off. Is this what everyone is getting?


Yes.
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: