It is currently 15 Dec 2018, 05:01




 Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Radiance and audio
PostPosted: 12 Apr 2018, 10:14 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 2122
Location: APAC
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 93 times
Hello everyone,

I was reviewing my cabling yesterday and realized that I still had to set my A/V Amp to Digital Audio (from LD Player Coax OUT), Analog Audio (from LD player R/L OUT and MUSE Decoder R/L OUT) and AC3RF (it's an older, compatible model).

Then I remembered that the Radiance also does analog and digital sound IN, I just never used them.

=> Would it make sense to have my setup Player + MUSE Decoder pass all audio to the Radiance to later output audio via Digital OUT or HDMI Audio?

Image


Example for video:

  • LD Player composite video to Vid12
  • MUSE Decoder RGB to Y10/PB10/PR10

Example for audio:

  • LD Player analog audio to In1 L/R
  • LD Player digital audio to COAXAudio In1 (or switched Digital/AC3 via a Pioneer RFD-1)
  • MUSE Decoder analog audio to In2 L/R
  • AC3 via AC3RF Demodulator to COAXAudio In2 (or keep it straight to A/V AMP AC3RF IN)

Question:

Would "Input 10" (MUSE) be able to have different profiles for both Digital and Analog Audio soundtracks?
Would "Input 12" (LD) be able to have different profiles for both Digital and Analog Audio soundtracks?
Would COAXAudio OUT be either the original Digital Audio, or the original AC3 soundtrack or the converted analog audio to digital?

Lumagen's manual for the analog audio (Section 6, p.23-27) is not very helpful, they focus on digital mostly.

Oh, and someone must tell them that it is spelled "LaserDisc", not "Laser Disk" :-)

Julien
_________________
LDDb on Facebook!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Radiance and audio
PostPosted: 12 Apr 2018, 18:10 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 11 Oct 2015, 16:35
Posts: 415
Location: United States
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 18 times
admin wrote:
Hello everyone,

I was reviewing my cabling yesterday and realized that I still had to set my A/V Amp to Digital Audio (from LD Player Coax OUT), Analog Audio (from LD player R/L OUT and MUSE Decoder R/L OUT) and AC3RF (it's an older, compatible model).

Then I remembered that the Radiance also does analog and digital sound IN, I just never used them.

=> Would it make sense to have my setup Player + MUSE Decoder pass all audio to the Radiance to later output audio via Digital OUT or HDMI Audio?

Image


Example for video:

  • LD Player composite video to Vid12
  • MUSE Decoder RGB to Y10/PB10/PR10

Example for audio:

  • LD Player analog audio to In1 L/R
  • LD Player digital audio to TOSlink In (or switched Digital/AC3 via a Pioneer RFD-1)
  • MUSE Decoder analog audio to In2 L/R
  • AC3 via AC3RF Demodulator to COAXAudio In2 (or keep it straight to A/V AMP AC3RF IN)

Question:

Would "Input 10" (MUSE) be able to have different profiles for both Digital and Analog Audio soundtracks?
Would "Input 12" (LD) be able to have different profiles for both Digital and Analog Audio soundtracks?
Would COAXAudio OUT be either the original Digital Audio, or the original AC3 soundtrack or the converted analog audio to digital?

Lumagen's manual for the analog audio (Section 6, p.23-27) is not very helpful, they focus on digital mostly.

Oh, and someone must tell them that it is spelled "LaserDisc", not "Laser Disk" :-)

Julien


In your case I would setup the different profile buttons (A, B, C, and D) on the remote for each different audio profile per input. So for "Input 12" you can setup A for digital audio, then put same settings into B except analog audio, then same settings into C except AC3 then if you want to hear the analog soundtrack you just hit the B button on the remote and for AC3 hit C on the remote.

I run my audio through the Lumagen so that it auto switches instead of having to mess with the AVR, so my AVR just gets the HDMI output from Lumagen and Lumagen automatically switches when I go from LD to Blu Ray.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Radiance and audio
PostPosted: 17 Apr 2018, 13:04 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 2122
Location: APAC
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 93 times
pbiancardi wrote:
I run my audio through the Lumagen so that it auto switches instead of having to mess with the AVR, so my AVR just gets the HDMI output from Lumagen and Lumagen automatically switches when I go from LD to Blu Ray.


Thanks for the confirmation!

That's exactly what I intend to do as well. Everything LD-related (Digital/Analog/AC3 5.1) to Lumagen (A/B/C/D) then Coax out for now since my Amp is too old for HDMI.

Works like a charm:

  • Input 10A = MSC-4K DIG
  • Input 10B = MSC-4K ANA
  • Input 12A = HLD-X9 DIG
  • Input 12B = HLD-X9 ANA
  • Input 12C = HLD-X9 AC3

Technically I could even send the COAX to the OPPO COAX In for better decoding/processing than my Amp and the Amp would truly become a pure 2ch/5.1ch Amp only.

Next challenge: insert the LG-1 decoder on Vid11 !

Julien
_________________
LDDb on Facebook!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Radiance and audio
PostPosted: 18 Apr 2018, 11:17 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 2122
Location: APAC
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 93 times
Done.

Almost maxing out the X9 and 2144 analog plugs!

Attachment:
cabling.png
cabling.png [ 461.98 KiB | Viewed 544 times ]


(Edit: small simplification because I didn't know the LG-1 was acting as a pass-through for video when powered on but turned off, only one composite video is needed.)

Attachment:
cabling_v2.png
cabling_v2.png [ 495.74 KiB | Viewed 536 times ]


Happy cabling everyone!

Julien
_________________
LDDb on Facebook!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Radiance and audio
PostPosted: 30 Apr 2018, 06:00 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 2122
Location: APAC
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 93 times
Additional bit of information (couldn't find it on Lumagen website or user manual):

Analog L/R Audio sampled by the Radiance will be output on the COAX Out @ 48KHz even if the COAX Out is set to allow 96KHz -- the maximum bitrate the coax bitstream can achieve.

Julien
_________________
LDDb on Facebook!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Radiance and audio
PostPosted: 30 Apr 2018, 10:42 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 16 Jun 2015, 15:40
Posts: 582
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 16 times
An RFD-1 (or similar) would simplify things a bit!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Radiance and audio
PostPosted: 03 May 2018, 10:00 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 2122
Location: APAC
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 93 times
admin wrote:
Analog L/R Audio sampled by the Radiance will be output on the COAX Out @ 48KHz even if the COAX Out is set to allow 96KHz -- the maximum bitrate the coax bitstream can achieve.


I will have to double-check this because Lumagen confirms it should be 96KHz by default.

Quote:
The default A2D sampling rate is 96 KHz. This is passed through unmodified so if your AVR reports COAX output from the Radiance at 96 KHz when using the A2D input on the Radiance, that confirms the sample rate.


But there is a way to toggle betweeb 48Khz and 96KHz:

Quote:
We have a special direct code to change the sampling rate (and the COAX output rate) to 48 KHz. Enter MENU 0924 to toggle between 48 KHz and 96 KHz A2D sampling. Make sure to do a Save after you have it set how you want.


Julien
_________________
LDDb on Facebook!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Radiance and audio
PostPosted: 03 May 2018, 15:09 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 2122
Location: APAC
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 93 times
Quote:
We have a special direct code to change the sampling rate (and the COAX output rate) to 48 KHz. Enter MENU 0924 to toggle between 48 KHz and 96 KHz A2D sampling. Make sure to do a Save after you have it set how you want.


Tried this tonight and it does toggle for Analog-2-Digital (Signal IN) between:

  • Audio A2D rate 48KHz
  • Audio A2D rate 96KHz

However the OPPO COAX IN reads 96KHz regardless of the setting on the R2144 side (Signal OUT).

Better leave everything at 96Khz by default.

Julien
_________________
LDDb on Facebook!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Radiance and audio
PostPosted: 16 May 2018, 02:28 
Genuinely interested
Genuinely interested
User avatar

Joined: 07 Nov 2017, 05:22
Posts: 45
Location: United States
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Any idea why I can't seem to store "pcm 2ch 44.1khz" ? Everytime I select 44.1, save, it defaults back to 48K. I thought the quantization on laserdisc is 16b 44k?

*I'm using the toslink input*
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Radiance and audio
PostPosted: 16 May 2018, 11:21 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 16 Jun 2015, 15:40
Posts: 582
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 16 times
clashradio wrote:
Any idea why I can't seem to store "pcm 2ch 44.1khz" ? Everytime I select 44.1, save, it defaults back to 48K. I thought the quantization on laserdisc is 16b 44k?

*I'm using the toslink input*


The adjustment Julien is referring to is for analogue to digital conversion from the analogue audio inputs nothing to do with the digital inputs.
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: