It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 07:31

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Search found 5 matches

Jump to forum   Jump to topic

Posted: 15 Nov 2018, 04:36 

Thanks for the feedback. Although, I'm surprised that no one mentioned or answered any of my questions in regards to the DVD recorder(Panasonic DMR-E65).

I have no experience with that model or any DVD recorder for that matter, actually I did own one years ago and it was great for recording
but I didn't use it for a filter.

While it may improve the image you may not be seeing what you want to see.
Its still an older analog video technology that can look great for what it was on modern equipment.

From the pictures in another post I would say that you could get an image slightly better than DVD IF you are willing to spend
the cash.

I believe mimilovesjapan has an X0 and lumagen scaler, posted some great images of Heavy Metal.

Posted: 30 Oct 2019, 22:09 

It’s a very good player. Better than many Elite models that came before it.

You should hook it up both ways and judge for yourself which is better. We can’t tell you anything you can see with your own eyes looking at your own stuff in your own room. In period the s-video output was intended to be best but these days there are many ways of handling video better than the best stuff from back then so composite may very well work better on your setup.

Calibrate the display to the player using Video Essentials (1996) [ID3487ISF] and turn the brightness and contrast WAY WAY down and you’ll be happy with the image of this player on any decent TV. If you try to make it as bright as your Blu-rays so you can watch it on a 100” screen with all the windows open on a sunny day expect it to look like blown out aliased crap.

Posted: 31 Oct 2019, 12:46