It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 00:36

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Search found 9 matches

Jump to forum   Jump to topic

Post subject: Re: AC-3 RF specification?
Posted: 29 Jun 2021, 14:12 

I came into this forum to basically post this exact thread.

I was hoping to find some information on the AC3 RF signal. Like the frequency it operates on, etc.

I'm an embedded firmware developer, and I wanted to look into building my own demodulator with a few cheap parts like say an AVR (Not sure if they're fast enough -- might need to go ARM) plus some RF and SPDIF modules. The problem is I just can't seem to find the required technical documentation on the AC3 RF signal itself.

In theory, I should be able to convert the RF signal into a bitstream and send it out over SPDIF relatively easily. In theory. I'll see if theory matches up with reality if I can get my hands on specs. :lol:

If I'm able to come up with a solution, I'd be happy to share the information and even source code with others who could build their own. Hopefully with just a dirt-cheap Arduino board and a couple other bits. I could utterly fail, as RF isn't one of my areas of expertise, but I'd at least like to give it a try.

$200+ on eBay just to get AC3 surround from a Laserdisc is insane.

I'm wondering if the details are too well-kept of a secret to pull this off.

If you find anything about "software decoding" AC3-RF that would also be very helpful for ld-decode. See: https://github.com/happycube/ld-decode/issues/622

Posted: 21 Jul 2021, 19:20 

Just wanna say thanks for the instructions. I replaced C116 on a dead DVL-919 and temporarily bridged the blown P612 and it works again. I now ordered new fuses then hopefully everything will be OK again.

Posted: 08 Nov 2022, 22:37 

el.pablo wrote:
Does anyone have one to sell or know where I can get one? Thanks.

In the US? Not anymore. I saw one on ebay Kleinanzeigen in Germany.

Post subject: Fitto Karaoke Boxes
Posted: 09 Jan 2023, 11:59