It is currently 22 Sep 2020, 09:16

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 19 Jan 2014, 18:17 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1131
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Got a spare parts hm-dh30000u some months ago for free :thumbup:
To be honnest it's in decent shape so I decided to investigate what does work!
it powers up ok!
The front panel display shows normal info. Playback , rewinding etc.., it all works.
Digital sound is ok! Toslink output works!

The Problem!
It doesn't output any video! not even the setup menu is displayed!
Not trough the yellow composite output! used a 480i regular (us ntsc) vhs tape
No luck on s-video either :?
No component output using Dtheater tapes!

I can't even display the menu for setting up the player. This isn't normal....? some component may have failed...?
could it be a bad cap or something like that? it is strange it doesn't even output the menu settings IMHO

Any advice is appreciated :thumbup:
_________________
CLD-D925
CLD-99elite
CLD-959
CLD-D703
LexiconLDD-1
LumagenXD
SR-7007
RMB-1585
DMP-UB900
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 19 Jan 2014, 21:02 
Absolute fan
Absolute fan
User avatar

Joined: 02 Apr 2006, 21:20
Posts: 1879
Location: United States
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 49 times
wish I could help you. maybe the video board is fried or the outputs are but it is worth the time since you got it free.

good luck in getting it fixed
_________________
INSTAGRAM | Poetry Blog | youtube
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 19 Jan 2014, 22:12 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1131
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 13 times
I guess it must be something on the video output board.
A friend of mine is an electronics technician. :thumbup:
I'm curious if he is up to the challenge... i hope a few new caps can do the trick.
_________________
CLD-D925
CLD-99elite
CLD-959
CLD-D703
LexiconLDD-1
LumagenXD
SR-7007
RMB-1585
DMP-UB900
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 16 Jul 2014, 19:38 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1131
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 13 times
No luck in repairing the hm-dh30000U spare unit :(
The main videoboard is fried :o Not a tragedy since I got the unit for spare parts if needed one day...

If anyone would have a player for sale that I can use as a donor....
open to offers... :thumbup:
_________________
CLD-D925
CLD-99elite
CLD-959
CLD-D703
LexiconLDD-1
LumagenXD
SR-7007
RMB-1585
DMP-UB900
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 30 Jan 2015, 10:38 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 30 Oct 2014, 02:27
Posts: 427
Location: Washington State
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time
I may be in the same boat. My player showed up via FedEx today. I set everything up, hooked up the appropriate component cables. It powers up fine, the display lights up and the counter works. Problem is no picture coming through. I tried composite and component, same issue each time. It gives me error code 201 with the message "wait a minute, calibrating". I gave it about 10 minutes but still no resolve. Now I'm wondering if I'm SOL or if I should get ahold of the original seller.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 30 Jan 2015, 11:06 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1131
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 13 times
ace2184 wrote:
I may be in the same boat. My player showed up via FedEx today. I set everything up, hooked up the appropriate component cables. It powers up fine, the display lights up and the counter works. Problem is no picture coming through. I tried composite and component, same issue each time. It gives me error code 201 with the message "wait a minute, calibrating". I gave it about 10 minutes but still no resolve. Now I'm wondering if I'm SOL or if I should get ahold of the original seller.



That's :thumbdown: to hear.
Never had any error codes here with these vcr's. knock on wood :shh:
Did the seller claim it was a working unit?
Maybe you can get a refund? the same thing happened with a player I got once. Got it refunded and the best part is I got to keep the player for spare parts. Seller was most helpful getting the refund. "Keep it anyway" he told me :thumbup: Who can complain.
I was in need of a power supply for a dh30000u I got trough ebay some days ago. The spare machine came in handy as a donor now.
_________________
CLD-D925
CLD-99elite
CLD-959
CLD-D703
LexiconLDD-1
LumagenXD
SR-7007
RMB-1585
DMP-UB900
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 30 Jan 2015, 11:16 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 30 Oct 2014, 02:27
Posts: 427
Location: Washington State
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Yeah it's a bit of a bummer. It was claimed to be working.said it was tested and working great, even had a picture of it playing a vhs. Hopefully the seller is easy to deal with.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 30 Jan 2015, 23:24 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 30 Oct 2014, 02:27
Posts: 427
Location: Washington State
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Latest update. It plays regular VHS tapes flawlessly. Now I'm wondering if it's the D-Theater tape I have or if whatever software controls the DVHS part is messed up.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 31 Jan 2015, 13:22 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1131
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 13 times
ace2184 wrote:
Latest update. It plays regular VHS tapes flawlessly. Now I'm wondering if it's the D-Theater tape I have or if whatever software controls the DVHS part is messed up.

Did you check te menu settings? I think there is a setting somewhere to set the output resolution.
I'm not at home now so not possible to check this with my player.
Good luck
_________________
CLD-D925
CLD-99elite
CLD-959
CLD-D703
LexiconLDD-1
LumagenXD
SR-7007
RMB-1585
DMP-UB900
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 31 Jan 2015, 15:20 
Young Padawan
Young Padawan
User avatar

Joined: 16 May 2009, 18:05
Posts: 3236
Location: Orange County, CA
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 118 times
These dvhs decks run pretty warm. They all have fans in the back for that reason. I seriously suggest placing these decks in the lower shelf and keep at least 3" from each side (and back totally open). Concealing it in a cabinet or stacking other gear on top and bottom will generate too much heat.

I opened up mine and the power section is pretty solid(it can always use some more coupling caps of course). It must be heat that is the greater factor in these decks longevity.

I think 30000u units run even warmer than later generation units. That's why fail rate is higher.
_________________
Wanted
HD-VMD Discs
Hi-Vision/Muse Discs Only complete/mint!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 02 Feb 2015, 22:37 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1131
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 13 times
ace2184 wrote:
Latest update. It plays regular VHS tapes flawlessly. Now I'm wondering if it's the D-Theater tape I have or if whatever software controls the DVHS part is messed up.


Did you get it working playing dtheater tapes?
Make sure the output setting isn't set to downconvert all to 480i ! :eh: :thumbdown:
Set it to no conversion or 720-1080i upconversion. This way you should be able to play Dtheater tapes. If not I'm :think: faulty? I sure hope not?

I received my faulty hm-dh30000u from ebay US just today. Display wasn't working and it shut down almost immediatly. threw in the PS from the player I got a while back ago for spare parts. Up and running now works like a charm :thumbup:
it's in almost mint condition so that is also a big+

I'm using the hm-dh5u as a main player since it supports dts. keeping both 30000u players as backup machines.

Hope you get it working :thumbup:
_________________
CLD-D925
CLD-99elite
CLD-959
CLD-D703
LexiconLDD-1
LumagenXD
SR-7007
RMB-1585
DMP-UB900
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 10 Feb 2015, 19:35 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 30 Oct 2014, 02:27
Posts: 427
Location: Washington State
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Thanks for the advice Kris. I was never able to get t working properly. After going back and forth with the seller, he thought I was trying to use the incorrect tapes, he finally agreed to me returning it after I put a claim in to Ebay. Sending it back today, wasn't meant to be I guess.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 11 Feb 2015, 18:41 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1131
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Sorry to read this...

Nice to see you could return it anyway.
Better luck with the next one :thumbup:
_________________
CLD-D925
CLD-99elite
CLD-959
CLD-D703
LexiconLDD-1
LumagenXD
SR-7007
RMB-1585
DMP-UB900
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 11 Feb 2015, 20:50 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 30 Oct 2014, 02:27
Posts: 427
Location: Washington State
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time
kris wrote:
Sorry to read this...

Nice to see you could return it anyway.
Better luck with the next one :thumbup:



Thank you. I suppose it's to be expected dealing with older electronics. I'll have to be more specific and clarify when looking for the next player. Offhand, I know the differences in the models, thanks to substance, are there models more prone to failure/error and are there models known for being more reliable?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 12 Feb 2015, 20:46 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1131
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 13 times
I use the HM-DH5u on a regular basis. I read good things about these. I'm sure the 40000 is a good alternative. They are brothers you know....

The first hm-dh30000u was "dreaded" on some forums with the PS board to blame in most cases.
I suspect using a 30000u on an everyday basis would'nt be longlived. I use my 30000u players from time to time to keep them spinning. never had on failing unit myself :thumbup: knock on wood :lol:

I would love a marantz MV-8300 (clone) since it's black finished but they are rare to come by I learned.
_________________
CLD-D925
CLD-99elite
CLD-959
CLD-D703
LexiconLDD-1
LumagenXD
SR-7007
RMB-1585
DMP-UB900
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2015, 04:50 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 30 Oct 2014, 02:27
Posts: 427
Location: Washington State
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Thankfully I'm not in a hurry or anything. I'll just keep an eye for a decent condition vcr.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 14 Feb 2015, 12:21 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1131
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 13 times
ace2184 wrote:
Thankfully I'm not in a hurry or anything. I'll just keep an eye for a decent condition vcr.


Out of curiosity ...
How much did you pay for the faulty unit?
I see some dh30000u machines on ebay for a reasonable price from time to time.
I got to keep my first faulty machine for free so it made a great spare parts machine.
I was able to repair my recently purchased machine that way. It's great to have some spare parts aeound for these decks.
_________________
CLD-D925
CLD-99elite
CLD-959
CLD-D703
LexiconLDD-1
LumagenXD
SR-7007
RMB-1585
DMP-UB900
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 15 Feb 2015, 04:09 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 30 Oct 2014, 02:27
Posts: 427
Location: Washington State
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Slightly embarrassing, but after shipping the 3000U ran me a little over $250. I got carried away during the auction :angel: There's a 4000U on eBay that someone has up. This one actually has pictures of it playing a D-Theater tape, which is promising.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 20 Feb 2015, 02:43 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 30 Oct 2014, 02:27
Posts: 427
Location: Washington State
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time
So I caved in and got the 4000U, shipped out today. If for whatever reason something is wrong with this one, I'll take it as a sign that I shouldn't collect D-VHS. :lol:
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: video output HM-DH30000u
PostPosted: 20 Feb 2015, 19:18 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1131
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 13 times
ace2184 wrote:
So I caved in and got the 4000U, shipped out today. If for whatever reason something is wrong with this one, I'll take it as a sign that I shouldn't collect D-VHS. :lol:


Search your feelings, you know it to be true ;)

Good luck with the format, keep me posted. I feel lonely in Europe being a dvhs owner :lol:
_________________
CLD-D925
CLD-99elite
CLD-959
CLD-D703
LexiconLDD-1
LumagenXD
SR-7007
RMB-1585
DMP-UB900
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron