It is currently 20 Jan 2021, 20:57




 Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Roach Infested CLD-3070
PostPosted: 13 Jan 2021, 04:47 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 730
Has thanked: 203 times
Been thanked: 209 times
I always open up players before I power them on and do an initial cleaning. After I pulled up the top right VSOP board, a bunch of little roach particles fell. Next I see live roaches in the unit! I quickly grabbed my contact cleaner and nuked all the ones I could safely target. This unit has some problems with the front panel, so I had to disassemble it. Roaches were even in the front fold-down drawer between the faceplate and board!

Now if only I owned Creepshow (1982) [11306]. It would be a fitting first spin.


Attachments:
CLD-3070_Roach.jpg
CLD-3070_Roach.jpg [ 228.25 KiB | Viewed 162 times ]
Online
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Roach Infested CLD-3070
PostPosted: 13 Jan 2021, 05:27 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 3158
Location: Tokyo
Has thanked: 125 times
Been thanked: 452 times
Mandatory spin up of Men in Black (1997) [82656].

You have a bug!!

Julien
_________________
LDDb on Facebook
HLD-X0/X9 | RFD-1 | MSC-4000 | R2144
DHS-8.8 | Oppo 105/205 | SL-1200G | P7 MC257
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Roach Infested CLD-3070
PostPosted: 13 Jan 2021, 06:21 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 712
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 100 times
Been thanked: 194 times
In my profession, this is something I unfortunately have to deal with from time to time.

Hope you can clean it all up as this is still a very well built player.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Roach Infested CLD-3070
PostPosted: 13 Jan 2021, 06:50 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 11 Jun 2008, 06:10
Posts: 1440
Location: Milky Way-Sol System-Terra-USA-North Carlolina.
Has thanked: 230 times
Been thanked: 130 times
No bloody way !

Negative Feedback torpedoes in the water.
Hope you nuked them effective enough to avoid an infestation of your own.
Bloody unacceptable in every way... 100%


Geepers creepers.... got the Heebee geebies reading this one.

Take steps cplusplus....... "NUKE'em Rico !"

Cheers
_________________
Acta Non Verba .....
Si Vis Pacem Para Bellum ....
Si Gorgiamus Allos Subjectatos Nunc ......
Online
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Roach Infested CLD-3070
PostPosted: 13 Jan 2021, 16:26 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 6941
Location: United States
Has thanked: 539 times
Been thanked: 387 times
wow, that's pretty nasty, I would have had that out of the house to clean.

Keep that sucker running, I love my 3070 and have a backup sitting in the box I need to pop out and break in.

Just spun my 3070 last night watching a discovision, gave me some trouble on the last side and I know the disc played fine on my other players
so it must be getting a little picky or? I hope nothing bad.
But all other stuff I throw at it is fine, so one DV disc isn't an issue when I can actually get that title on DVD now.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Roach Infested CLD-3070
PostPosted: 13 Jan 2021, 16:33 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 2019, 02:29
Posts: 623
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 71 times
Whenever I see or hear people talking about roaches I always think of Fallout 3.
When you're trying to get out of the vault at the beginning and a security guard gets attacked by them :lol:
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Roach Infested CLD-3070
PostPosted: 13 Jan 2021, 19:41 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Sep 2012, 23:14
Posts: 1146
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 186 times
Been thanked: 215 times
cplusplus wrote:
Now if only I owned Creepshow (1982) [11306]. It would be a fitting first spin.


Very fitting indeed.

:thumbup:
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Roach Infested CLD-3070
PostPosted: 14 Jan 2021, 00:12 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 730
Has thanked: 203 times
Been thanked: 209 times
admin wrote:
Mandatory spin up of Men in Black (1997) [82656].

You have a bug!!

Also fitting :lol:

ldfan wrote:
Hope you can clean it all up as this is still a very well built player.

Yes indeed. Arguably the best built Both Side Play non-Elite US unit? I actually have the correct remote for it as well.

rein-o wrote:
wow, that's pretty nasty, I would have had that out of the house to clean.

I wish I would have. I'm wondering how many escaped before I realized. I had it sitting in my house for hours and didn't plan on opening it last night. Found some free time, and I'm glad I did...

rein-o wrote:
Just spun my 3070 last night watching a discovision, gave me some trouble on the last side and I know the disc played fine on my other players
so it must be getting a little picky or? I hope nothing bad.

Possibly something has drifted ever so slightly. Wont start playing it?

So far with the CLD-3070 Roach Edition:
Some issues with responsiveness of buttons on the dropdown panel.
Disc tray will eject halfway then return (possibly related to the above)
Smells like bad electrolytics under the shielding of the VSOP board.
Some sort of minor high frequency mechanical sound playing Side A.

Not bad for a 32 year old player. Watched first side of Coogan's Bluff (1968) [40867] (also released in 1989 8-)) last night. Looked great, no playback issues. Checked crosstalk with a test disc, and there is a tad of cleanup to do but I'm going to wait for the player to get broken in again.
Online
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Roach Infested CLD-3070
PostPosted: 14 Jan 2021, 01:49 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 6941
Location: United States
Has thanked: 539 times
Been thanked: 387 times
I had grasshopper fix this one years ago, always had issues with 1 disc that I own and it still has that same issue, everything else
plays fine but now this second disc, but its also a Discovision, and now that I think about it I don't know if I ever actually played this disc
in this player before.
I know I've owned the disc almost forever and its not a biggie to bother tweeking for a single disc.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Roach Infested CLD-3070
PostPosted: 15 Jan 2021, 04:54 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 712
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 100 times
Been thanked: 194 times
cplusplus wrote:
So far with the CLD-3070 Roach Edition:
Some issues with responsiveness of buttons on the dropdown panel.
Disc tray will eject halfway then return (possibly related to the above)



Maybe cold solder somewhere on panel board. My CLD-3030, which is built very similarly, had its LED display blink on/off a few years back and I found that it was simply cold solder.

For the disc tray, maybe it's a loading belt issue?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Roach Infested CLD-3070
PostPosted: 15 Jan 2021, 09:33 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 15 Apr 2012, 10:36
Posts: 538
Location: Norway
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 15 times
Isn't there a ribbon cable or a flex cable that needs to be reseated on this model? I have a faint memory of either Krbahr or Grasshopper mentioning something about this long time ago. It can be the cable for the door, bad connection makes for unresponsive buttons, etc. Also as you suggest, the disc tray will only eject halfway.
Just recently I fixed my CLD-1750. The tray would only go halfway out and get stuck with noisy outcome. When I tilted the player on the side, the tray got in and out perfectly. The issue was simply a broken tooth on of the cogs in the loading section.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Roach Infested CLD-3070
PostPosted: 16 Jan 2021, 00:54 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 712
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 100 times
Been thanked: 194 times
laserpaal wrote:
Isn't there a ribbon cable or a flex cable that needs to be reseated on this model? I have a faint memory of either Krbahr or Grasshopper mentioning something about this long time ago. It can be the cable for the door, bad connection makes for unresponsive buttons, etc.


There definitely is a ribbon cable that connects from the display board and the main board. This was the first thing I did on my 3030 in respect to reseating the cable and in my case it didn't work for my display issue (also a b**ch trying to get to the cable on the main board as it was really buried in my unit). Worth a shot on the 3070 to see if it will work.



laserpaal wrote:
Also as you suggest, the disc tray will only eject halfway.
Just recently I fixed my CLD-1750. The tray would only go halfway out and get stuck with noisy outcome. When I tilted the player on the side, the tray got in and out perfectly. The issue was simply a broken tooth on of the cogs in the loading section.


That's a good possibility as well. My recently acquired Sony, MDP-650 has this issue and @ some point I'm going to fix it with w/ the epoxy trick to rebuild the teeth.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Roach Infested CLD-3070
PostPosted: 16 Jan 2021, 01:05 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 730
Has thanked: 203 times
Been thanked: 209 times
Yeah getting to the cable is not going to be fun...

I had to pull the power supply on a CLD-92 once and that was tedious but this will be worse. I should probably at least make a guide while I'm at it.
Online
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Roach Infested CLD-3070
PostPosted: 16 Jan 2021, 04:33 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 730
Has thanked: 203 times
Been thanked: 209 times
cplusplus wrote:
Yeah getting to the cable is not going to be fun...

It actually wasn't too terribly bad. Four screws and it unhooks down forwards.

What is terribly bad, however, is the loading assembly is mistimed! Now I'm having to disassemble the loading assembly which I wanted to steer completely clear of.

Further, Roachfest 2021 is still going on inside the player. I've killed 4 more live roaches in the unit! One had an egg casing attached to it! One escaped! After that I just started dousing the underside of the boards with contact cleaner...

I'm going to have to call an exterminator.

Attached is a roach-free overview.


Attachments:
File comment: CLD-3070 Overview
CLD-3070_Overview.jpg
CLD-3070_Overview.jpg [ 240.57 KiB | Viewed 31 times ]
Online
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: