It is currently 27 Apr 2024, 15:45

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 
 Post subject: Pioneer D406: Stay here or shoot higher?
PostPosted: 06 Feb 2024, 00:31 
Knows how to post
Knows how to post

Hey everyone, I've been rocking a CLD-D406 for a couple years now, after some questionable endeavours with a LD-V4000, CLD-V2600, and a ProScan PSLD41. Nothing's wrong with the D406 (any weird error code fixes itself with a power cycle, and that's been quite rare), but I feel that this player is the bare minimum for what I want: S-Video, digital out, AC3 out, matches everything else's colour. I've been curious as to see what my potential upgrade paths are, and if they're even necessary as players seem to be getting into the stratosphere after a certain level, and law of diminishing returns may just ring true. I probably won't want to spend $400-$500 to get something really quite nice, and that feels like pulling teeth for how blatantly archaic (!) this all is. I've made a list of players on my radar, but I seem to be hitting contrasting opinions on things (especially in the CLD-x9 Elite line). What I'd REALLY like to know is: what am I getting out of a better machine? Is a different comb filter worth doubling the price? Is it easier for the five remaining technicians to still charge me more than the cost of another player? Is there a magic trick play feature that does my taxes for me?

Models in question:

Denon LA-3300
Denon LA-3300G
Denon LA-3500 (LX-900u w/ RF)
Marantz LV520 (CLD-59/504)
McIntosh MLD7020b (CLD-97 w/RF)
Mitsubishi M-V7057 (CLD-D704)
Panasonic LX-H680
Pioneer CLD-59
Pioneer CLD-79
Pioneer CLD-99
Pioneer CLD-D604
Pioneer CLD-D605
Pioneer CLD-D606
Pioneer CLD-D704
Pioneer CLD-D780
Pioneer CLD-D99
Pioneer DVL-700
Pioneer DVL-90
Pioneer DVL-909
Pioneer DVL-91
Pioneer DVL-919
Pioneer DVL-V888
ProScan PSLD46 (CLD-59/504)
Yamaha CDV-W901 (CLD-59/504)

So in short, should I upgrade, and if so, to what?

Post subject: Re: Pioneer D406: Stay here or shoot higher?