It is currently 02 Dec 2020, 07:39




 Page 2 of 2 [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 15 Aug 2019, 20:02 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 646
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 149 times
dvdmike007 wrote:
I know the models, thanks.
But in the UK I would not call a single one of them reasonably priced.


Which tells me there are smarter people in Europe than in the Americas when it comes to knowing the value of a rare commodity. :)

If you go ahead w/ the ADP-303 mod, it will still be worth it in that case. Been thinking of getting the Marantz equivalent to fumble around modding it but can’t find it cheap enough to make it worth my while right now.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2020, 00:07 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 588
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 149 times
I just modded one of these. Here are images of the AC-3 board and where I tapped the signal from.


Attachments:
File comment: ADP 303 AC-3 Board
ADP303_AC3.jpg
ADP303_AC3.jpg [ 329.84 KiB | Viewed 332 times ]
File comment: ADP 303 DAOUT
ADP303_DAOUT.jpg
ADP303_DAOUT.jpg [ 148.59 KiB | Viewed 332 times ]
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2020, 01:52 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 646
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 149 times
Cool :thumbup:

What pin on what chip does this point go to? I have been researching the Marantz version (DP-870) and can't decide if pin 35 (Data-O) or Pin 39 (DO) would be the right point off of the DA1 chip (LC8904Q). This is what I would hope is the point after input switching.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2020, 23:14 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 588
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 149 times
65 on the Pioneer chip. I tried pin 35 on LC8904Q with no results.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 28 Oct 2020, 07:55 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 646
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 149 times
Did more research on that DA1 chip and now I am thinking the digital out could be pin 1. Here is a schematic I found on the chip.

Image



On the schematic for the Marantz, DP-870, the pin is currently not connected to anything so that could be a good hint it's the correct point.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 29 Oct 2020, 00:05 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 588
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 149 times
ldfan wrote:
On the schematic for the Marantz, DP-870, the pin is currently not connected to anything so that could be a good hint it's the correct point.

Same for the ADP303. I definitely overlooked that. I might give it a shot.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 29 Oct 2020, 18:23 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 588
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 149 times
I tried pin 1 with no success.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 29 Oct 2020, 20:31 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 646
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 149 times
Well.... it was worth a shot. Back to the drawing board :think:

Thanks for checking :)
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 29 Oct 2020, 21:46 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 588
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 149 times
I wish we could get a kit made (printed board, passive components, and enclosure) where all we would have to do is solder a donor Pioneer demodulation IC.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 30 Oct 2020, 12:02 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1135
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 13 times
I think the Onkyo ED-901 has the same signal on pin 65 if you want to add a digital out.

stumbled upon such a standard factory fitted db-25 decoder.

Opening up the unit later on and have a look
_________________
CLD-D925
CLD-99elite
CLD-959
CLD-D703
LexiconLDD-1
LumagenXD
SR-7007
RMB-1585
DMP-UB900
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 30 Oct 2020, 17:25 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 588
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 149 times
Interesting on the DB25 connector. It looks like it is just 5.1 out though from the SM.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 30 Oct 2020, 21:50 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 646
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 149 times
cplusplus wrote:
Interesting on the DB25 connector. It looks like it is just 5.1 out though from the SM.



The DB25 was the other option to having six standard RCA cables mated from a processor to an AV Receiver or AV Pre-Amp. They essentially function in the same manner. There is still no digital output from a DB-25.

If one ends up w/ the ED-901, you can make or even purchase an adapter that goes from DB-25 to six RCA cables. Here is an example of one...

https://www.infinitecables.com/audio-an ... hx-pinout/


cplusplus wrote:
I wish we could get a kit made (printed board, passive components, and enclosure) where all we would have to do is solder a donor Pioneer demodulation IC.


Now I'm thinking these processors that utilize the LC8904Q chip are not designed to accommodate with any ease the inclusion of a digital output. I know that the kit I purchased to add a digital out to my CLD-M90 had a very extensive list of chips that would work with it but not the LC8904Q. At most, the digital out signal on LC8904Q might be coming off of several pins that might need to be combined in special manner on a secondary board to create a proper S/PDIF digital signal. Gotta do more research on it.


Last edited by ldfan on 30 Oct 2020, 22:01, edited 2 times in total.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 30 Oct 2020, 21:58 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 588
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 149 times
Yeah my Kenwood has the DB25 between the preamp and amp. Your posts remind me I need to see if I can find one in storage to free up some RCA cables.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 31 Oct 2020, 21:11 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1135
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 13 times
the chip in the HK-303 and ED-901 look the same if you ask me...

have to open up the unit to make sure
_________________
CLD-D925
CLD-99elite
CLD-959
CLD-D703
LexiconLDD-1
LumagenXD
SR-7007
RMB-1585
DMP-UB900
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 31 Oct 2020, 21:14 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1135
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 13 times
ldfan wrote:
cplusplus wrote:
Interesting on the DB25 connector. It looks like it is just 5.1 out though from the SM.



The DB25 was the other option to having six standard RCA cables mated from a processor to an AV Receiver or AV Pre-Amp. They essentially function in the same manner. There is still no digital output from a DB-25.

If one ends up w/ the ED-901, you can make or even purchase an adapter that goes from DB-25 to six RCA cables. Here is an example of one...

https://www.infinitecables.com/audio-an ... hx-pinout/


cplusplus wrote:
I wish we could get a kit made (printed board, passive components, and enclosure) where all we would have to do is solder a donor Pioneer demodulation IC.


Now I'm thinking these processors that utilize the LC8904Q chip are not designed to accommodate with any ease the inclusion of a digital output. I know that the kit I purchased to add a digital out to my CLD-M90 had a very extensive list of chips that would work with it but not the LC8904Q. At most, the digital out signal on LC8904Q might be coming off of several pins that might need to be combined in special manner on a secondary board to create a proper S/PDIF digital signal. Gotta do more research on it.


expensive cables!
even has the wrong male DB-25 connector.... need female to rca if you want to set it up that way.I it is for use towards a receiver I think.... 5.1rca out to db-25 input
I have no use for the ed-901 tbh. but I might add a digital output just for the sake of science...
_________________
CLD-D925
CLD-99elite
CLD-959
CLD-D703
LexiconLDD-1
LumagenXD
SR-7007
RMB-1585
DMP-UB900
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 01 Nov 2020, 15:02 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1135
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Located the 4606 IC chip on the ED-901 . There is a solderpoint signal path on the actual board.
This should be easy enough to tap
_________________
CLD-D925
CLD-99elite
CLD-959
CLD-D703
LexiconLDD-1
LumagenXD
SR-7007
RMB-1585
DMP-UB900
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 01 Nov 2020, 18:06 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 588
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 149 times
I'm getting working AC-3 directly from PD4606A pin 65. From what I have seen, if you do digital coax you would really need to make a small board for all of the downstream components. I'm going to go the TOSLINK route, so I think I can just add the connector and tap VCC and GND and be good?

This is all based on my (probably incorrect) reading of the APD-1 service manual.


Attachments:
File comment: Yamaha APD-1 AC-3 Out
APD-1_Out.jpg
APD-1_Out.jpg [ 110.86 KiB | Viewed 153 times ]
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2 [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: