It is currently 07 Feb 2023, 05:28




 Page 1 of 1 [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 29 Apr 2020, 10:54 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 3980
Location: Tokyo
Has thanked: 222 times
Been thanked: 870 times
Hello!

Someone who bought a Japanese (100V) APD-1 from me last year left me a message to say that he stopped using a power converter (230V -> 100V) because it could be done just by moving a jumper/selector inside the device!

Could it be that simple?

Couldn't find a picture of a APD-1 board but we do have the service manual:

https://manuals.lddb.com/AC3RF_Demodulators/Yamaha_APD-1-EN_Service_Manual.pdf

Attachment:
APD_1.jpg
APD_1.jpg [ 74.65 KiB | Viewed 3267 times ]

Attachment:
APD_2.jpg
APD_2.jpg [ 22.92 KiB | Viewed 3267 times ]


Julien
_________________
HARDWARE DATABASE
HLD-X0/9 LD-S9 OPPO 105/205 DHS-8.8 SL-1200G
LDD-1 LG-1 MSC-4000 R2144 C45 MC257
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 29 Apr 2020, 13:30 
Absolute fan
Absolute fan
User avatar

Joined: 16 Nov 2018, 14:21
Posts: 1541
Location: New Delaware
Has thanked: 434 times
Been thanked: 478 times
Can I do the same with my APD-2? I have to use a little step-down plug for it and it would be nice to take that out of the equation.
_________________
Blog: The Coterie / L'boxd: Diary
Pioneer CLD-R7G, CLD-D925 | Yamaha APD-2 | DVDO Edge, VP50 Pro
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 29 Apr 2020, 14:07 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 3980
Location: Tokyo
Has thanked: 222 times
Been thanked: 870 times
teddanson wrote:
Can I do the same with my APD-2?


As far as I know, the APD-2 is only the brushed aluminum version of the black APD-1.
Might be the same.

Unless the Japanese version was different from the North America/Europe versions?
I'll open one next time I get a chance.

Julien
_________________
HARDWARE DATABASE
HLD-X0/9 LD-S9 OPPO 105/205 DHS-8.8 SL-1200G
LDD-1 LG-1 MSC-4000 R2144 C45 MC257
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 29 Apr 2020, 18:05 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1165
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 18 times
Since these were also made with an actual voltage selector in the back of the unit I think it's safe to say they all are equal inside
_________________
CLDD925
CLD99elite
CLD959
LexiconLDD-1
CLD97
LumagenXD
SR-7015
RMB-1585
DP-UB820
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 03 May 2020, 16:38 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015, 16:20
Posts: 21
Location: France
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times
I have open my APD-1 (japanese) to verify.

There is a strap between BE and BR. And the manual seems to indicate that if i made a strap between RE and BE, it will switch to 230 V. (on the bottom right corner)

The photo is here :

Image

Actually, i have not tried, beacause i will not broke it, and i have only this model.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 03 May 2020, 16:56 
Absolute fan
Absolute fan
User avatar

Joined: 16 Nov 2018, 14:21
Posts: 1541
Location: New Delaware
Has thanked: 434 times
Been thanked: 478 times
I will open my Japanese APD-2 and take the same photo when I get a chance.

If this is confirmed working I will desolder the jumper and move it to the JP1 location. Just need it confirmed before I risk frying it!
_________________
Blog: The Coterie / L'boxd: Diary
Pioneer CLD-R7G, CLD-D925 | Yamaha APD-2 | DVDO Edge, VP50 Pro
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 20 Aug 2020, 04:38 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 3980
Location: Tokyo
Has thanked: 222 times
Been thanked: 870 times
Would anyone have a APD-1 or APD-2 sold for the North American market (120V) or the European market (230V)?

We could just take a pic inside to confirm how the BR/BE/RE are connected.

Julien
_________________
HARDWARE DATABASE
HLD-X0/9 LD-S9 OPPO 105/205 DHS-8.8 SL-1200G
LDD-1 LG-1 MSC-4000 R2144 C45 MC257
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 25 Aug 2020, 02:50 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 2019, 02:29
Posts: 659
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 85 times
Yes, confirmation of the jumpers for all different regions would be fantastic.
I have (sort of) been thinking about getting a Japanese unit for some time, it would be great to mod it for straight domestic AC use :)
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 25 Aug 2020, 09:28 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2019, 18:26
Posts: 493
Location: UK
Has thanked: 215 times
Been thanked: 184 times
I have a 230v (EU version) Sony MOD RF1 which apart from cosmetic differences on the front appears as though it could be the same unit as the Yamaha, I purchased it new here in the UK back in the late 90s. If of any use I could open this one up to photograph ?
_________________
Pioneer HLD-X9/CLD-925/CLD-2950
Sony MSC4000
Sony VPL VW500ES
Lumagen Radiance 2144
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 25 Aug 2020, 10:37 
Absolute fan
Absolute fan
User avatar

Joined: 16 Nov 2018, 14:21
Posts: 1541
Location: New Delaware
Has thanked: 434 times
Been thanked: 478 times
admin wrote:
Would anyone have a APD-1 or APD-2 sold for the North American market (120V) or the European market (230V)?

We could just take a pic inside to confirm how the BR/BE/RE are connected.

Julien


Was the APD-2 ever sold outside Japan? I thought it was a Japan-only product?

Would be great to get some help though on the jumpers and so on. The APD-1 and APD-2 appear identical although if you look closer there is a slight layout difference, that's about all?
_________________
Blog: The Coterie / L'boxd: Diary
Pioneer CLD-R7G, CLD-D925 | Yamaha APD-2 | DVDO Edge, VP50 Pro
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 25 Aug 2020, 14:03 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 2019, 02:29
Posts: 659
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 85 times
laserfanhld-gb wrote:
I have a 230v (EU version) Sony MOD RF1 which apart from cosmetic differences on the front appears as though it could be the same unit as the Yamaha, I purchased it new here in the UK back in the late 90s. If of any use I could open this one up to photograph ?


Up to Julien I guess, but I think another thread for the Sony EU might be a good idea.
They could be different or the same internally idk.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 25 Aug 2020, 17:23 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 3980
Location: Tokyo
Has thanked: 222 times
Been thanked: 870 times
laserfanhld-gb wrote:
I have a 230v (EU version) Sony MOD RF1 which apart from cosmetic differences on the front appears as though it could be the same unit as the Yamaha, I purchased it new here in the UK back in the late 90s. If of any use I could open this one up to photograph ?


From the Service Manuals, it looks like they are not the same design:

https://manuals.lddb.com/AC3RF_Demodulators/

https://manuals.lddb.com/AC3RF_Demodulators/Sony_MOD-RF1-EN_Service_Manual.pdf
https://manuals.lddb.com/AC3RF_Demodulators/Yamaha_APD-1-EN_Service_Manual.pdf

Julien
_________________
HARDWARE DATABASE
HLD-X0/9 LD-S9 OPPO 105/205 DHS-8.8 SL-1200G
LDD-1 LG-1 MSC-4000 R2144 C45 MC257
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 25 Aug 2020, 19:38 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2019, 18:26
Posts: 493
Location: UK
Has thanked: 215 times
Been thanked: 184 times
admin wrote:
laserfanhld-gb wrote:
I have a 230v (EU version) Sony MOD RF1 which apart from cosmetic differences on the front appears as though it could be the same unit as the Yamaha, I purchased it new here in the UK back in the late 90s. If of any use I could open this one up to photograph ?


From the Service Manuals, it looks like they are not the same design:

https://manuals.lddb.com/AC3RF_Demodulators/

https://manuals.lddb.com/AC3RF_Demodulators/Sony_MOD-RF1-EN_Service_Manual.pdf
https://manuals.lddb.com/AC3RF_Demodulators/Yamaha_APD-1-EN_Service_Manual.pdf

Julien



Having just cast my untrained eye over the above manuals I think I'd 100% agree with you Julien, although should the need arise to open up the Sony at a future point the offer still remains.
_________________
Pioneer HLD-X9/CLD-925/CLD-2950
Sony MSC4000
Sony VPL VW500ES
Lumagen Radiance 2144
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 26 Aug 2020, 02:11 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 3980
Location: Tokyo
Has thanked: 222 times
Been thanked: 870 times
laserfanhld-gb wrote:
Having just cast my untrained eye over the above manuals I think I'd 100% agree with you Julien, although should the need arise to open up the Sony at a future point the offer still remains.


Inside pics of the MOD-RF1 would be welcomed in this topic:

Sorry for the French: SONY MOD-RF1 insides/repair video

Julien
_________________
HARDWARE DATABASE
HLD-X0/9 LD-S9 OPPO 105/205 DHS-8.8 SL-1200G
LDD-1 LG-1 MSC-4000 R2144 C45 MC257
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 26 Aug 2020, 15:36 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2019, 18:26
Posts: 493
Location: UK
Has thanked: 215 times
Been thanked: 184 times
Picture now posted on the above topic Julien.
_________________
Pioneer HLD-X9/CLD-925/CLD-2950
Sony MSC4000
Sony VPL VW500ES
Lumagen Radiance 2144
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 15 Jan 2023, 09:57 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1165
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 18 times
I should open up both and have a look inside.
Own the 230volts and a switched one.
Did anyone here give this a try anyway?
Hope it is as simple as soldering the connection in place
_________________
CLDD925
CLD99elite
CLD959
LexiconLDD-1
CLD97
LumagenXD
SR-7015
RMB-1585
DP-UB820
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 16 Jan 2023, 02:22 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 3980
Location: Tokyo
Has thanked: 222 times
Been thanked: 870 times
kris wrote:
Did anyone here give this a try anyway?
Hope it is as simple as soldering the connection in place


That's what I was told but was waiting for pics to confirm :-)

Julien
_________________
HARDWARE DATABASE
HLD-X0/9 LD-S9 OPPO 105/205 DHS-8.8 SL-1200G
LDD-1 LG-1 MSC-4000 R2144 C45 MC257
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
PostPosted: 16 Jan 2023, 11:53 
Absolute fan
Absolute fan
User avatar

Joined: 16 Nov 2018, 14:21
Posts: 1541
Location: New Delaware
Has thanked: 434 times
Been thanked: 478 times
admin wrote:
kris wrote:
Did anyone here give this a try anyway?
Hope it is as simple as soldering the connection in place


That's what I was told but was waiting for pics to confirm :-)

Julien


Same. Still waiting. Until then I'm just using a proper step down unit. I have my R7G hooked up to it too.
_________________
Blog: The Coterie / L'boxd: Diary
Pioneer CLD-R7G, CLD-D925 | Yamaha APD-2 | DVDO Edge, VP50 Pro
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 18 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: