It is currently 23 Apr 2024, 11:17

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: [519] Dropping Audio. Thoughts?
PostPosted: 01 Nov 2022, 20:45 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity

I have a Meridian 519 hooked up between my 704 and my Yamaha receiver. It’s setup to process AC-3 and to pass thru the digital signal coming out of the 704. I have had this setup running perfectly for many years. Recently, it started dropping the audio signal intermittently. I have test player, the cables, and the receiver, and have determined the fault is somewhere in the Meridian. The Meridian can output via Optical or Coax and the audio drops happen with both outputs. I’ve opened the unit, but nothing jumps out at me (but I’m no expert here). Any ideas or thought?

Thanks!

Post subject: Re: Meridian 519 Dropping Audio. Thoughts?
PostPosted: 01 Nov 2022, 22:10 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan

The Meridian (like all AC3-RF Demodultors that have multiple inputs) switches automatically between the AC3-RF and S/PDIF input. Your unit might be glitching back and forth between the two if the AC3-RF signal is not strong enough to maintain a lock for some reason.

The manual does show on page 6 that there are jumpers to change the operation of the unit. See here....

https://www.meridian-audio.info/public/ ... 106%5D.pdf

Also, another test you can conduct would be to remove the S/PDIF out of the player to the Meridian to see if not sending a PCM signal to the unit will cause any adverse effect or not w/ the AC3 signal.

PostPosted: 01 Nov 2022, 23:45 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity

That’s definitely some good information, but I don’t think that’s what is happening here. If the unit doesn’t detect an AC-3 signal, it will default to the digital track and pass it through. The jumpers are set to allow this functionality. I get the audio dropouts whether I’m sending an AC-3 signal or a digital signal. Further, this occurs whether I’m utilizing the Meridinan’s optical or coax output.