It is currently 31 Jan 2023, 01:43




 Page 1 of 4 [ 63 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 18 May 2012, 17:03 
User avatar
I own a few of these units, it has ac-3 rf inputs but only 1x 5.1 output. Since i want only a raw dolby signal to my high end reciever without al the loss of sound setting from the unit. Is there a way to add a dolby digital optic out or coax out connector?

Just like a simple demodulator does
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 18 May 2012, 21:22 
User avatar
nllaserdiscnl wrote:
I own a few of these units, it has ac-3 rf inputs but only 1x 5.1 output. Since i want only a raw dolby signal to my high end reciever without al the loss of sound setting from the unit. Is there a way to add a dolby digital optic out or coax out connector?

Just like a simple demodulator does


I have this same model that I use for testing in the shop. I've been wanting to do the same thing. When I tear into it if I find anything out I'll report back :)
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 18 May 2012, 22:17 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 2010, 09:44
Posts: 5675
Location: Ann Arbor
Has thanked: 1053 times
Been thanked: 912 times
I have one as well. I'm pretty sure it's possible since it probably has the same Pioneer demodulator chip in it that everything else does. This would be handy for newer receivers that lack multi-channel inputs (ie: most affordable modern stuff).
_________________
All about LD care, inner sleeves, shrink wrap, etc.

https://youtu.be/b3O-vHpHRpM
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 18 May 2012, 22:25 
User avatar
Soldering and smd stuff no problem if
Only someone has the layout ;) I can make it happen
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 22 May 2012, 22:43 
User avatar
some inside pica s


Attachments:
IMG_1385.JPG
IMG_1385.JPG [ 122.94 KiB | Viewed 9255 times ]
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 22 May 2012, 22:44 
User avatar
+


Attachments:
IMG_1384.JPG
IMG_1384.JPG [ 147.03 KiB | Viewed 9255 times ]
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 22 May 2012, 22:45 
User avatar
so on 1 of the empty spaces should be a place for an dolby digital coax out if i am correct right?
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 23 May 2012, 09:28 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 19 May 2006, 20:41
Posts: 537
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 38 times
nllaserdiscnl wrote:
so on 1 of the empty spaces should be a place for an dolby digital coax out if i am correct right?


No, this box is not foreseen for a DD output, however the correct signal can be taken from pin 65 of ASIC QM01 (PM4606A) and can be let to an optical output model or a coax out (via buffering and a transformer)


Attachments:
PD4606A.jpg
PD4606A.jpg [ 214.91 KiB | Viewed 9242 times ]
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 23 May 2012, 09:38 
User avatar
Hahaha thanx again! So What Parts do i need to make this transfer compleet?
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 23 May 2012, 09:46 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 19 May 2006, 20:41
Posts: 537
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 38 times
The TP6 (DAOUT) is the signal comming from the pin 65 ASIC QM01 as descibed above,

All values are in the picture so this should help you ...

Building an additional buffer between the ASIC and TP6 might not harm! (R67 + 4 parallel buffers using 7404 like in the pic used for the COAX out)


Attachments:
DD out.jpg
DD out.jpg [ 150.45 KiB | Viewed 9241 times ]
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 10 Feb 2013, 00:42 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 26 Oct 2012, 05:11
Posts: 359
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Did the modification today and it works fine! :)
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 10 Feb 2013, 02:00 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 2010, 09:44
Posts: 5675
Location: Ann Arbor
Has thanked: 1053 times
Been thanked: 912 times
Cool!

I should do this so that when my AVR craps out I won't have to drop hundreds more $$$ just for multi channel outputs.
_________________
All about LD care, inner sleeves, shrink wrap, etc.

https://youtu.be/b3O-vHpHRpM
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 10 Feb 2013, 20:30 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 26 Oct 2012, 05:11
Posts: 359
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Image

Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 21 Feb 2013, 16:47 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 26 Oct 2012, 05:11
Posts: 359
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
I was thinking...

If you take the digital signal after the switching IC, would it be possible to use the ADP-303 as a switch, so you can choose between RF and optical out from the laserdisc player... ?
Would a DTS signal harm the electronics of the ADP-303?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 25 Feb 2013, 07:07 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 26 Oct 2012, 05:11
Posts: 359
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Tested it, not working.

But, I have done another modification, the unit converts the RF signal, but also switch to optical in (PCM/DTS) when no RF AC3 is detected and puts it out of the optical output.

Image

Image

Image

Tested it and it works smoothly :)
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 27 Jan 2015, 02:02 
User avatar
THAT IS WAAAAY COOL!! 8-)
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 14 Aug 2019, 19:35 
Genuinely interested
Genuinely interested
User avatar

Joined: 02 May 2015, 13:34
Posts: 33
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Sorry to bump an old thread.
This unit is the closest I have come to a demodulator.
I bought it thinking my older pioneer had 6 channel input, but it didn't nor does my upgraded new one.
Is the work detailed here the only way to get AC-3 into my receiver using this?
Thanks in advance.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 14 Aug 2019, 23:50 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 2010, 09:44
Posts: 5675
Location: Ann Arbor
Has thanked: 1053 times
Been thanked: 912 times
Yes.
_________________
All about LD care, inner sleeves, shrink wrap, etc.

https://youtu.be/b3O-vHpHRpM
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 15 Aug 2019, 05:47 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 1293
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 346 times
Been thanked: 459 times
dvdmike007 wrote:
This unit is the closest I have come to a demodulator.



There are three models of AC-3 Processors that you can obtain that already have digital outputs that will work to covert the AC3-RF to S/PDIF for further processing to a more modern day AV Receiver / Processor.

Sony, SDP-E800
Sony, SDP-EP9ES (or EP90ES)
Denon, AVD-2000

These will show up on eBay every so often @ very reasonable prices and definitely will be cheaper than getting a standalone AC3-RF Demodulator.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Harman Kardon ADP-303 Digital output
PostPosted: 15 Aug 2019, 10:19 
Genuinely interested
Genuinely interested
User avatar

Joined: 02 May 2015, 13:34
Posts: 33
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time
ldfan wrote:
dvdmike007 wrote:
This unit is the closest I have come to a demodulator.



There are three models of AC-3 Processors that you can obtain that already have digital outputs that will work to covert the AC3-RF to S/PDIF for further processing to a more modern day AV Receiver / Processor.

Sony, SDP-E800
Sony, SDP-EP9ES (or EP90ES)
Denon, AVD-2000

These will show up on eBay every so often @ very reasonable prices and definitely will be cheaper than getting a standalone AC3-RF Demodulator.

I know the models, thanks.
But in the UK I would not call a single one of them reasonably priced.
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 4 [ 63 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: