LaserDisc Database
https://forum.lddb.com/

Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?
https://forum.lddb.com/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=9019
Page 1 of 1

Author:  admin [ 29 Apr 2020, 10:54 ]
Post subject:  Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?

Hello!

Someone who bought a Japanese (100V) APD-1 from me last year left me a message to say that he stopped using a power converter (230V -> 100V) because it could be done just by moving a jumper/selector inside the device!

Could it be that simple?

Couldn't find a picture of a APD-1 board but we do have the service manual:

https://manuals.lddb.com/AC3RF_Demodulators/Yamaha_APD-1-EN_Service_Manual.pdf

Attachment:
APD_1.jpg
APD_1.jpg [ 74.65 KiB | Viewed 445 times ]

Attachment:
APD_2.jpg
APD_2.jpg [ 22.92 KiB | Viewed 445 times ]


Julien

Author:  teddanson [ 29 Apr 2020, 13:30 ]
Post subject:  Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?

Can I do the same with my APD-2? I have to use a little step-down plug for it and it would be nice to take that out of the equation.

Author:  admin [ 29 Apr 2020, 14:07 ]
Post subject:  Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?

teddanson wrote:
Can I do the same with my APD-2?


As far as I know, the APD-2 is only the brushed aluminum version of the black APD-1.
Might be the same.

Unless the Japanese version was different from the North America/Europe versions?
I'll open one next time I get a chance.

Julien

Author:  kris [ 29 Apr 2020, 18:05 ]
Post subject:  Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?

Since these were also made with an actual voltage selector in the back of the unit I think it's safe to say they all are equal inside

Author:  dandu [ 03 May 2020, 16:38 ]
Post subject:  Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?

I have open my APD-1 (japanese) to verify.

There is a strap between BE and BR. And the manual seems to indicate that if i made a strap between RE and BE, it will switch to 230 V. (on the bottom right corner)

The photo is here :

Image

Actually, i have not tried, beacause i will not broke it, and i have only this model.

Author:  teddanson [ 03 May 2020, 16:56 ]
Post subject:  Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?

I will open my Japanese APD-2 and take the same photo when I get a chance.

If this is confirmed working I will desolder the jumper and move it to the JP1 location. Just need it confirmed before I risk frying it!

Author:  admin [ 20 Aug 2020, 04:38 ]
Post subject:  Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?

Would anyone have a APD-1 or APD-2 sold for the North American market (120V) or the European market (230V)?

We could just take a pic inside to confirm how the BR/BE/RE are connected.

Julien

Author:  deadlegion [ 25 Aug 2020, 02:50 ]
Post subject:  Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?

Yes, confirmation of the jumpers for all different regions would be fantastic.
I have (sort of) been thinking about getting a Japanese unit for some time, it would be great to mod it for straight domestic AC use :)

Author:  laserfanhld-gb [ 25 Aug 2020, 09:28 ]
Post subject:  Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?

I have a 230v (EU version) Sony MOD RF1 which apart from cosmetic differences on the front appears as though it could be the same unit as the Yamaha, I purchased it new here in the UK back in the late 90s. If of any use I could open this one up to photograph ?

Author:  teddanson [ 25 Aug 2020, 10:37 ]
Post subject:  Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?

admin wrote:
Would anyone have a APD-1 or APD-2 sold for the North American market (120V) or the European market (230V)?

We could just take a pic inside to confirm how the BR/BE/RE are connected.

Julien


Was the APD-2 ever sold outside Japan? I thought it was a Japan-only product?

Would be great to get some help though on the jumpers and so on. The APD-1 and APD-2 appear identical although if you look closer there is a slight layout difference, that's about all?

Author:  deadlegion [ 25 Aug 2020, 14:03 ]
Post subject:  Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?

laserfanhld-gb wrote:
I have a 230v (EU version) Sony MOD RF1 which apart from cosmetic differences on the front appears as though it could be the same unit as the Yamaha, I purchased it new here in the UK back in the late 90s. If of any use I could open this one up to photograph ?


Up to Julien I guess, but I think another thread for the Sony EU might be a good idea.
They could be different or the same internally idk.

Author:  admin [ 25 Aug 2020, 17:23 ]
Post subject:  Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?

laserfanhld-gb wrote:
I have a 230v (EU version) Sony MOD RF1 which apart from cosmetic differences on the front appears as though it could be the same unit as the Yamaha, I purchased it new here in the UK back in the late 90s. If of any use I could open this one up to photograph ?


From the Service Manuals, it looks like they are not the same design:

https://manuals.lddb.com/AC3RF_Demodulators/

https://manuals.lddb.com/AC3RF_Demodulators/Sony_MOD-RF1-EN_Service_Manual.pdf
https://manuals.lddb.com/AC3RF_Demodulators/Yamaha_APD-1-EN_Service_Manual.pdf

Julien

Author:  laserfanhld-gb [ 25 Aug 2020, 19:38 ]
Post subject:  Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?

admin wrote:
laserfanhld-gb wrote:
I have a 230v (EU version) Sony MOD RF1 which apart from cosmetic differences on the front appears as though it could be the same unit as the Yamaha, I purchased it new here in the UK back in the late 90s. If of any use I could open this one up to photograph ?


From the Service Manuals, it looks like they are not the same design:

https://manuals.lddb.com/AC3RF_Demodulators/

https://manuals.lddb.com/AC3RF_Demodulators/Sony_MOD-RF1-EN_Service_Manual.pdf
https://manuals.lddb.com/AC3RF_Demodulators/Yamaha_APD-1-EN_Service_Manual.pdf

Julien



Having just cast my untrained eye over the above manuals I think I'd 100% agree with you Julien, although should the need arise to open up the Sony at a future point the offer still remains.

Author:  admin [ 26 Aug 2020, 02:11 ]
Post subject:  Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?

laserfanhld-gb wrote:
Having just cast my untrained eye over the above manuals I think I'd 100% agree with you Julien, although should the need arise to open up the Sony at a future point the offer still remains.


Inside pics of the MOD-RF1 would be welcomed in this topic:

Sorry for the French: SONY MOD-RF1 insides/repair video

Julien

Author:  laserfanhld-gb [ 26 Aug 2020, 15:36 ]
Post subject:  Re: Yamaha APD-1 voltage selector switch?

Picture now posted on the above topic Julien.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/