It is currently 23 Apr 2024, 08:50

Page 1 of 3 [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Post subject: MOBILE SUIT GUNDAM GUNPLA Modelling, Anyone?
PostPosted: 11 Jan 2020, 15:51 
Absolute fan
Absolute fan

i began my road to OTAKUdom long ago, as a young teen back in the early/mid-1990s, by proxy of leftover 1980's Paint-and-Glue Anime Mecha model kits.

around 1997, i took my first major leap forward thanks to my first GUNDAM-related kit,

with multi-color molding, press-fit assembly and extensively-polycapped joints, it was a quantum leap

beyond the standard no-frills plastic model fare i was used to up to that point.

around 1998, i got my first MASTER GRADE series GUNDAM kit, and from there i scarcely looked back.

my most recent kits, -just finished in late 2019- are also my most thoroughly satisfying.

2001 BANDAI MG MSZ-006A1 and MSZ-006C1, from 1988 ZETA GUNDAM side-story GUNDAM SENTINEL;

Post subject: Re: MOBILE SUIT GUNDAM GUNPLA Modelling, Anyone?
PostPosted: 11 Jan 2020, 15:52 
Absolute fan
Absolute fan

now for something a bit more old-fashioned than the average GUNDAM kit, dating clear back to 1983. a bona-fide classic, even;

PostPosted: 11 Jan 2020, 17:57 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight

I started with that same era of Arii kits, but the much smaller ones which were like $1-3 back in the mid 80s. I didn’t get any of the larger ones except for the ones Revell sold as Robotech and I got a crapload of those in 1986 when they went on clearance.. I also loved the Dougram kits they sold with the rubber band joints which a lot of people laugh at now. At the time the only alternative was crappy rotating parts like the early Gundam/Macross kits had.