It is currently 11 Aug 2020, 22:34




 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: DVDO VP50 Pro
PostPosted: 28 Jul 2020, 16:23 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 16 Nov 2018, 14:21
Posts: 426
Location: Ireland
Has thanked: 70 times
Been thanked: 49 times
Got a VP50 Pro on the way to me in the next few days. It will form both part of my permanent viewing setup and also be used to assist with capturing LD and VHS sources.

Just wondered if folks here could give me a few pointers on the following:

  1. Can the VP50 Pro spit out video over HDMI and fire out audio separately via SPDIF and/or Phono? The idea being using an HDMI capture device purely for video, and my Zoom U-44 for audio and marry the two in Premiere Pro or Adobe Rush etc.
  2. Can you manually mask off the screen? For example, to mask a Widescreen LD that has Japanese subtitles outside the picture area. A good example being Star Wars Definitive Collection Box.
  3. Does anyone have any nice recommended settings for the VP50 Pro? Any interesting tweaks, tips etc?
  4. Tom Nook is Jim Jones isn't he?

Thanks all. :thumbup:
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVDO VP50 Pro
PostPosted: 28 Jul 2020, 17:59 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 23 Jul 2006, 17:16
Posts: 31
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time
[list=1][*]Can the VP50 Pro spit out video over HDMI and fire out audio separately via SPDIF and/or Phono? The idea being using an HDMI capture device purely for video, and my Zoom U-44 for audio and marry the two in Premiere Pro or Adobe Rush etc.

Yes. You can send the video signal out from the VP50 via HDMI and the audio can be output from the phono digital out. This is so you can send the video to your TV/Monitor/Projector and the audio to your AV amp.

I have LD video signal (S-video or composite going into video input4 on vp50) and both analog (via l&r phono) and digital audio (via coaxial) going into the VP50, i then select via the vp50's OSD either the Video 4 (digital) or Stereo (analog) settings. The digital coax out from the VP50 is then fed into one input on my AV amp - so you have one input on your amp for BOTH LD analog and digital sound. I still then have to send the AC3 signal direct from my LD player to the amp via an RF demodulator. SO i have three audio feeds from the LD player, two going to the VP50, and the AC3 goes separately.

Any audio going through the VP50 will need to be lip synced (delayed) by about 90 - 110 ms (about a tenth of a second). The VP50 will calculate this delay automatically, but you can make fine adjustments manually using the VP50 settings menu.


[*]Can you manually mask off the screen? For example, to mask a Widescreen LD that has Japanese subtitles outside the picture area. A good example being Star Wars Definitive Collection Box.

Yes you can! its in the 'Borders' setting.

[*]Does anyone have any nice recommended settings for the VP50 Pro? Any interesting tweaks, tips etc?

It depends on the type, size and what your monitor/TV is. For example, I use a Pioneer 42in Plasma which has a 720 native display. Although the TV will happily receive a 1080p signal, the screen itself is 720. I have my VP50 set at 720p NTSC 60hz output.

Hope this helps.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVDO VP50 Pro
PostPosted: 29 Jul 2020, 06:35 
Honest fan
Honest fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Jul 2012, 10:29
Posts: 79
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 21 times
I got the VP50Pro back when it was new, don't use it much anymore though.

In my experience, it does good inverse telecine on most live action movie LDs/DVDs, but it was crap for cartoons and anime and would show a bunch of jaggies and/or combing.

I also had audio problems (clipping maybe, been a while) when I tried to use its HDMI autput with analog audio input. HDMI input to SPDIF output might be fine, but you might want to do some tests to make sure it's not doing anything to the signal.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVDO VP50 Pro
PostPosted: 31 Jul 2020, 20:54 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 16 Nov 2018, 14:21
Posts: 426
Location: Ireland
Has thanked: 70 times
Been thanked: 49 times
Received the 50 Pro today. Just set it up and ran a couple of tests. I'm short a toslink cable so haven't tested audio yet. It's a bit odd it isn't throwing the RCA audio over HDMI though. Am I missing something?

The rest of the device is magnificient. Star Wars borders applied to 'erase' the subtitles. AR modes tested etc.

I love it. I forgot what having a DVDO VP was like as it's been years since I had one, well two. I'd go for a Lumagen but I just don't see where I actually need one to justify the expense. Crazy enough I bought the VP50 Pro just for Laserdisc...and maybe my PS TV and/or PSP.

I just wish Star Wars Definitive Box didn't suffer from that pixelated VCD look so much though!

Really pleased with this though, it will make viewing and capturing my discs far more enjoyable I hope.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVDO VP50 Pro
PostPosted: 31 Jul 2020, 21:16 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 23 Jun 2017, 01:55
Posts: 1459
Location: United States
Has thanked: 509 times
Been thanked: 164 times
My 50 pro and Duo have been in use since the day I got them. I don't often use them for LD, but have on a few occasions. PSP with component out with help from a 50 pro is pretty solid! Helps to be able to zoom in otherwise it's really boxed in.
_________________
My collection. If it's not anime, it's probably available for sale or trade.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVDO VP50 Pro
PostPosted: 31 Jul 2020, 21:48 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 16 Nov 2018, 14:21
Posts: 426
Location: Ireland
Has thanked: 70 times
Been thanked: 49 times
Yeah to be honest the bog standard picture spat out isn't far off what my Philips can do. They see pretty evenly matched. The advances of technology I guess..

That said, it is all the extra trinkets the VP offers that makes it worthwhile imho.

I may join you on the PSP idea!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVDO VP50 Pro
PostPosted: 10 Aug 2020, 22:51 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 16 Nov 2018, 14:21
Posts: 426
Location: Ireland
Has thanked: 70 times
Been thanked: 49 times
Got it working, audio and all! I was about to throw it out the window until I realised my HDMI matrix had some sort of EDID bug that was muting the audio too!

Everything works great now. I definitely prefer the DVDO output over the already superb picture my Philips telly produces. Chiefly because of the options available.

For example, I played my Street Fighter DTS disc today and have it firing out 720x480p at 2:35:1 after adjusting the 480i input to 16:9 2:35:1 and it looks great to me. Correct me if I am.doing it wrong!

Usually I would just leave everything at 4:3 and what the TV spits out for me.

Happy so far with the DVDO though despitetge analogue audio bug!
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: