It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 09:08

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 
 Post subject: Troubleshooting Droupouts and Still Frame Jitter
PostPosted: 17 Jul 2019, 02:53 
Second post
Second post

My Setup: CLD-97 Composite Out > DVDO Edge Green, 480P Out > HDMI input on Pioneer Receiver > Sony 4K TV

My problems:
1) Lots of video/audio dropouts where the receiver can't maintain a sync. This has always happened but somehow I feel that it's gotten worse recently. The player searches chapters very quickly so I don't think it's an alignment issue but I'm an LD novice!
2) Jitter when using the freeze frame feature of CAV discs. I can get a still image without jitter by putting an Extron YCS-100 composite to S-Video box between the LD player and DVDO, but then the colors are washed out and I have TERRIBLE dot crawl so I can't bring myself to use the Extron.

I have read all the threads about the high-end video processors and sadly cannot afford them at this time. I don't need the highest picture quality possible, I simply want to be able to watch LDs without 10-15 dropouts an hour. Any tips on how to keep the signal in sync? Bonus points if it can also maintain a STILL still image!

Post subject: Re: Troubleshooting Droupouts and Still Frame Jitter
PostPosted: 17 Jul 2019, 03:16 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan

What do you mean by "dropout" ? Do you have a picture or a video about your problem ?
Lumagen 2144 (scaler)
Collection

PostPosted: 17 Jul 2019, 07:13 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight

Use a CRT.

https://youtu.be/b3O-vHpHRpM

PostPosted: 17 Jul 2019, 10:04 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan

signofzeta wrote:
Use a CRT.
8-)

Failing that have you tried straight composite to the TV? Been hearing some good things about the composite inputs on some 4K TV's.

If you use/need the Edge for aspect ratio adjustments have you tried bypassing the receiver? (The 'dropouts' might be some kind of HDMI handshake issue between the Edge/Receiver/TV??)

PostPosted: 17 Jul 2019, 15:39 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master