It is currently 28 Jan 2022, 23:55




 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [CLD-D760] Only powers up sometimes
PostPosted: 02 Dec 2021, 10:04 
Second post
Second post
User avatar

Joined: 24 Nov 2021, 08:30
Posts: 2
Location: United States
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
I've looked around for the answer, but I can't find anything specific to this model. It's got a 110/220 switch in the back. I have it set to 110 since I'm in the US.

When it's plugged in, I hear a thud and the standby light does not come on. Only unplugging it and plugging it back in several times may make it finally power up properly. The fuse isn't busted, so I'm at a loss how to address this. Once it powers up, it plays great. It needs a new belt, but that's an easy fix.

I've seen that sometimes an arc suppressor can cause problems, but I don't know if this model has one. I guess it's a voltage issue.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CLD-D760 only powers up sometimes
PostPosted: 02 Dec 2021, 21:32 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 1244
Has thanked: 333 times
Been thanked: 413 times
No suppression on this one. SM says 110-127V or 220-240V. I'm thinking capacitor issue.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CLD-D760 only powers up sometimes
PostPosted: 02 Dec 2021, 22:04 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 7558
Location: Dullaware
Has thanked: 932 times
Been thanked: 627 times
Is it possible the voltage switch is dirty and not making correct contact?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CLD-D760 only powers up sometimes
PostPosted: 02 Dec 2021, 23:49 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 10 May 2007, 03:12
Posts: 1396
Location: United States
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 235 times
Agreed; I'd look at capacitors first
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D760] Only powers up sometimes
PostPosted: 18 Dec 2021, 07:36 
Second post
Second post
User avatar

Joined: 24 Nov 2021, 08:30
Posts: 2
Location: United States
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
I've ordered some replacement capacitors, mainly for the primary power, but in the meantime I unhooked the power assembly and tried to test a lot of things with a multimeter. Once I plugged it all back in, I noticed it didn't do the same thud sound. The red standby light came on and I could power on the player every time I tried, but now no power is going to any of the gears or spindle assembly. I unplugged its power source from the power assembly and nothing happened.

When I unplugged the flky assembly and main board assembly, nothing worked on the front panel. So at this point I'm looking closer at the capacitors responsible for power to the spindle motor assembly.

I noticed there is a thermal fuse (F201) attached to another part with wires running over to the board and it tested with resistance at least, but I'm not sure how to properly test it with my multimeter. I only bring this up because I saw a post earlier today that had this as the person's power problem.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D760] Only powers up sometimes
PostPosted: 21 Dec 2021, 03:33 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 1244
Has thanked: 333 times
Been thanked: 413 times
jtatum5655 wrote:
The red standby light came on and I could power on the player every time I tried, but now no power is going to any of the gears or spindle assembly.

Sounds like you shorted something. Check ICPs and fuses for continuity. I think there are three of each.
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: