It is currently 28 Apr 2024, 18:26

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 
 Post subject: [CLD-53] Intermittent Side Switch Problem
PostPosted: 20 Nov 2014, 08:04 
Hey guys, I'm relatively new to LaserDiscs and brand new to this forum. I've had a really crappy player for a few years and inherited a bunch of discs from an ex-girlfriend's roommate. I really enjoy the format, and just recently picked up a CLD-53 in "untested" condition but excellent physical condition for $10.

For $10 I'm not complaining, and it's a large step up in quality from my Sony LDP-1200, which had no features at all and sounded like a Cessna 182 trying to take off.

I will attempt to explain the problem(s) as best I can and would be more than happy to be directed towards a topic that already exists on this problem, as I'm sure I'm not the only one who has experienced this.

I got it home and the first thing I did was open the case to inspect the mains board and make sure it was safe to turn on. Everything checked out, so I loaded a disc (Star Trek: Generations) and the first thing I noticed is when the clamps came down the motor seemed to complain and not spin the disk, just whine. Eventually this stopped and the disc was ejected. I thought for sure something was terminally wrong and was about to start taking it apart, but once I re-inserted the disc just to see if it would repeat the problem, the mechanism seemed to load properly and began spinning up the disc and playing Side A. I have been able to reproduce this problem a few times, but it seems to have worked itself out as the player has warmed up. I'm sure it will return, but it's not really the biggest concern I have. Before watching the film I played around swapping sides. Everything worked perfectly. I swapped from A to B several times and the mechanism worked flawlessly.