It is currently 17 Sep 2019, 18:09




 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [CLD-3030] Dolby AC3 Mod
PostPosted: 18 Feb 2019, 01:14 
Second post
Second post
User avatar

Joined: 17 Jul 2017, 21:38
Posts: 2
Location: United States
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Hey all!

I recently picked up CLD-3030 in really condition for $5 that seems to be working well so far. I am interested in modifying this player to output an AC3-RF signal but I am having some trouble finding where to tap the RF signal on the board.

Does anyone out there have experience doing an AC3 Mod on this player? Or does anyone know where I can find complete schematics for the electronics? As the service manual PDF on this site currently only has the mechanicals.

Thanks!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CLD-3030 Dolby AC3 Mod
PostPosted: 18 Feb 2019, 01:45 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 425
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 67 times
Here are all the points you need for the CLD-3030 (CLD-99S)...


Wide view from bottom
Image


Close up view of the AFM and Mute point
Image


The points for +5vdc (red), -5vdc (blue), and GND (black) can be found anywhere and clearly labeled so you don't have to use the points I chose on my player.

Now you just need to build an AC3-RF board for the player.

Hope this helps. :)
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-3030] Dolby AC3 Mod
PostPosted: 18 Feb 2019, 18:42 
Second post
Second post
User avatar

Joined: 17 Jul 2017, 21:38
Posts: 2
Location: United States
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Yes, This is great! Thank you so much for taking out the guess work of tapping the RF signal.
Just to be clear you only connected the center of the COAX to the Audio FM point highlighted. The COAX shielding is only connected to the ground point on the AC3-RF board?

I'll definitely follow up in the next few weeks after I build the board and install it.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-3030] Dolby AC3 Mod
PostPosted: 18 Feb 2019, 19:05 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 425
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 67 times
patentpending wrote:
Just to be clear you only connected the center of the COAX to the Audio FM point highlighted. The COAX shielding is only connected to the ground point on the AC3-RF board?


That is correct.

Just strip back some of the insulation on the AFM side and use a shrink tube as shown to insulate it from touching the board. The cable is actually getting "some" GND insulation from the AC3-RF board (although not as perfect if grounded on both ends but I was told it's okay so long as this cable did not exceed a certain length).

Good luck getting the job done. :thumbup:
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: