It is currently 17 Oct 2019, 14:50




 Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [CLD-3030] Output looks like macrovision
PostPosted: 09 May 2019, 23:41 
Honest fan
Honest fan
User avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2018, 02:00
Posts: 66
Location: United States
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Well, my $20 CLD-3030 find yesterday is so far a near miss.

The picture looks like it's just not quite getting enough sync signal to hold.
Happens with both the composite & RF outputs on discs that play fine in other players.
The blue screen with things like "PAUSE" & "SIDE A" etc is rock solid & clear.
I cleaned the laser & disc wobble seems minimal. Spins Quietly. Chapter seeks & jog functions appear to be easily performed. Sound is stable. All functions seem to work fine.
Just seems to lack a little nudge for a stronger signal.
I don't see any of the visible capacitors bulging or leaking.
Suggestions?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CLD-3030 output looks like macrovision
PostPosted: 10 May 2019, 00:45 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 01 Feb 2018, 02:41
Posts: 1034
Location: Finland
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 61 times
Does it look like this?

Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CLD-3030 output looks like macrovision
PostPosted: 10 May 2019, 03:33 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 10 May 2007, 03:12
Posts: 1173
Location: United States
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 48 times
With these older players the are a lot of adjustments to the video signal. For the 3030 you can go to the DAPS board and adjust VR102 to adjust the black sync pulse level. You need a CAV recorded test disc in pause mode and an oscilloscope for signal comparison and level setting. Could also be VR101 that adjusts the illuminate sync level could be too high and pushing into the control pulse. Definitely looks like your monitor is not detecting the low pulse used to indicate end of the field and return to the top for the next field.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CLD-3030 output looks like macrovision
PostPosted: 10 May 2019, 14:25 
Honest fan
Honest fan
User avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2018, 02:00
Posts: 66
Location: United States
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Looks like this:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/2399039 ... 302249198/
(FB LD Forever group.)

Or



Last edited by remav on 10 May 2019, 19:01, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CLD-3030 output looks like macrovision
PostPosted: 10 May 2019, 16:45 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 01 Feb 2018, 02:41
Posts: 1034
Location: Finland
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 61 times
remav wrote:
Looks like this:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/2399039 ... 302249198/
(FB LD Forever group. Hope I'm not assuming too much, so let me know if you can't see the video & I'll figure something else out - thanks!)

I can't see the picture. Upload it somewhere else.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CLD-3030 output looks like macrovision
PostPosted: 10 May 2019, 16:48 
Serious fan
Serious fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 137
Location: United States
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 11 times
takeshi666 wrote:
I can't see the picture. Upload it somewhere else.


Same.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CLD-3030 output looks like macrovision
PostPosted: 10 May 2019, 19:32 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 5871
Location: United States
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 141 times
I would check another disc as that's towards the end and its probably warped.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CLD-3030 output looks like macrovision
PostPosted: 11 May 2019, 02:43 
Honest fan
Honest fan
User avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2018, 02:00
Posts: 66
Location: United States
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times
rein-o wrote:
I would check another disc as that's towards the end and its probably warped.


Tried 3 different discs that all play fine on my other players. All exact same results on this one.
(I've been amazed in the past how much of a warp there can be & still play better than this.)
It's really quiet.
In a former life (DeVry BSEE program circa 1985) I used oscilloscopes, but not since.
I'm retiring next month so will have more time, I might tackle this... how much is an used oscilloscope that would do jobs I'm likely to run into like this?
Thanks!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CLD-3030 output looks like macrovision
PostPosted: 11 May 2019, 11:10 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 5871
Location: United States
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 141 times
There may be 2 other possibilities that I can think of.
Could possibly be slipping or the laser may be dying? :cry:

I was looking on craigslist and there were 2 scopes for 80 bucks, but I think in order to find out what issues you may need
the test disc otherwise you won't know what to look for.

I'm no tech but maybe you might want to look into adjusting some of the pots inside?
I had an issue with 1 disc on my 3070 and really wish I didn't mess with the pots for that one disc, but if you are always
having the issue then it could or may be something else.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CLD-3030 output looks like macrovision
PostPosted: 11 May 2019, 16:25 
Honest fan
Honest fan
User avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2018, 02:00
Posts: 66
Location: United States
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times
rein-o wrote:
There may be 2 other possibilities that I can think of.
Could possibly be slipping or the laser may be dying? :cry:


If it were slipping wouldn't that mess up the audio?
(I do have the option of returning it & getting my $20 back.)
It came with 1 Disc, Down & Out in Beverly Hills, which I didn't have, so not a total loss.
Thanks
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CLD-3030 output looks like macrovision
PostPosted: 12 May 2019, 17:40 
Honest fan
Honest fan
User avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2018, 02:00
Posts: 66
Location: United States
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Went with Plan C... Offered it to my repair guy who is fixing the spdif on my Sony MDP-650. He accepted as he thinks he can fix it.
Great $20 spent if I get back a working optical output for the Sony.
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: