It is currently 10 Dec 2022, 02:41




 Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [CLD-1010] AC3 Modding
PostPosted: 04 Jan 2013, 22:01 
User avatar
Hi,

I came across a CLD-1010 and I did some research and found that it can be modded to support AC3 and DTS. What I couldn't find in this research was how is this mod done? If anyone knows of a link I missed, it would be much appreciated. Thanks!
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding CLD-1010
PostPosted: 05 Jan 2013, 00:41 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 10 May 2007, 03:12
Posts: 1433
Location: United States
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 284 times
Every player made can be modified with an AC-3 RF output. You just need the points to connect to and the diagram to build. Now the DTS can only be done if the Audio chipset has a digital output pin. The LD-V8000 actually does not have that output so I can tell you that all players with digital audio do not have the option. You need to check a service manual.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding CLD-1010
PostPosted: 05 Jan 2013, 01:41 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 02 Jan 2010, 02:04
Posts: 300
Location: United States
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
krbahr wrote:
Every player made can be modified with an AC-3 RF output. You just need the points to connect to and the diagram to build. Now the DTS can only be done if the Audio chipset has a digital output pin. The LD-V8000 actually does not have that output so I can tell you that all players with digital audio do not have the option. You need to check a service manual.

I think that the CLD-1010 only has analog audio outputs.

TLK :cool:
_________________
Samsung UN43MU6300 43" 2160p LED HDTV; Pioneer Elite LD-S2; Pioneer RFD-1; Onkyo TX-NR818
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding CLD-1010
PostPosted: 05 Jan 2013, 01:47 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Sep 2012, 05:09
Posts: 466
Location: Greenbush, Michigan
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
The 1010 Audio Decoder has the Pin out and can be added coax Digital out for pcm and DTS.

The 1010 has 2 sets of analog outs one for strictly analog LD's and one set detects the Digital tracks on the LD.

Little tricky soldering for pcm/dts out but does work....
_________________
SERVOS SYSTEMS: FOCUS,TRACKING,SLIDER,SPINDLE,TILT,TANGENTIAL(1984 BACK) TIME BASE CORRECTOR
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding CLD-1010
PostPosted: 05 Jan 2013, 02:01 
User avatar
I've read that this one can be modded for both.
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding CLD-1010
PostPosted: 05 Jan 2013, 02:12 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Sep 2012, 05:09
Posts: 466
Location: Greenbush, Michigan
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
zahntron wrote:
I've read that this one can be modded for both.



Yes both can be done without little trouble, just work involved as its all done through moving boards from the bottom and carefull soldering for the pcm/dts.

If you want the mods done contact ldservice or Kurtis,

I have to many LD projects at the moment, I still have 2 1010s torn down also.

Duane, MI
_________________
SERVOS SYSTEMS: FOCUS,TRACKING,SLIDER,SPINDLE,TILT,TANGENTIAL(1984 BACK) TIME BASE CORRECTOR
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding CLD-1010
PostPosted: 05 Jan 2013, 04:35 
User avatar
grasshopper wrote:
zahntron wrote:
I've read that this one can be modded for both.



Yes both can be done without little trouble, just work involved as its all done through moving boards from the bottom and carefull soldering for the pcm/dts.

If you want the mods done contact ldservice or Kurtis,

I have to many LD projects at the moment, I still have 2 1010s torn down also.

Duane, MI


Cool! Thank you. I'll do that if I feel this mod is beyond what I can do.
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding CLD-1010
PostPosted: 03 Jul 2021, 18:46 
Third post and above
Third post and above
User avatar

Joined: 12 May 2021, 16:58
Posts: 3
Location: United States
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Hello,

Not sure if this is an active thread anymore, but I thought I'd try here before starting a new post. I am looking to mod my CLD-1010 for AC3-RF. Anybody have any experience doing this on the 1010? I'm not afraid to do the mod myself, but I'm not sure about the proper schematic. Are the circuit designs generic between players, or specific? Does anybody make a pcb assembled, or in kit form? I got a Denon avd-2000 waiting for some sweet RF. Thanks!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding CLD-1010
PostPosted: 03 Jul 2021, 19:36 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 1243
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 334 times
Been thanked: 437 times
You can still order a kit from Benedictus....

http://www.benedictus.de/bde/AC3-1.htm

I think the cost is about 75 Euro + 20 Euro for shipping. The kit comes w/ all the parts needed to complete the mod + specific instructions on where to solder wires on your specific player.

I have used these kits a lot in the early 2000's and they work great. However, I have since moved on and now making my own boards to keep cost down as I continue to upgrade my remaining players.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding CLD-1010
PostPosted: 04 Jul 2021, 00:55 
Third post and above
Third post and above
User avatar

Joined: 12 May 2021, 16:58
Posts: 3
Location: United States
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Thanks for the reply. The Benedictus kits are nice, but like you, I'd like to keep costs down too. Can you point me to a good schematic that you use to make your boards? I've found a few different ones, but not sure what the differences are.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding CLD-1010
PostPosted: 04 Jul 2021, 01:30 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 1243
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 334 times
Been thanked: 437 times
This is the schematic of the one that has proven reliable and overall a fairly simple design for use on all North American players (except maybe Sony models).

Image

Parts list is as follows....

Q1 = Transistor NTE123AP (NPN)
Q2 = Transistor DTA-124ES (PNP)
C1, C2, C3, C4 = Ceramic Capacitor 0.1uf
R1 = Resistor 1k ohm, 1/4 watt (diagram says 100 ohm but I found no issue w/ 1k ohm)
R2 = Resistor 680 ohm, 1/4 watt
R3 = Resistor 10k ohm, 1/4 watt
R4 = Resistor 100k ohm, 1/4 watt
R5 = Resistor 75 ohm, 1/4 watt



This is the first board I made based on the schematic and showing where all the parts go.

Top
Image

Bottom
Image


Finally, here are links on the two players I had modded with my home made boards that might be useful....

Scratch built AC3-RF board installed in my ProScan, PSLD43

Pioneer CLD-M90 now modded for AC-3 RF and Digital Outputs


Hope this helps :)


Last edited by ldfan on 06 Dec 2022, 19:00, edited 2 times in total.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding CLD-1010
PostPosted: 06 Jul 2021, 18:39 
Third post and above
Third post and above
User avatar

Joined: 12 May 2021, 16:58
Posts: 3
Location: United States
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Thank you so very much! Getting a straight, comprehensive answer helps tremendously. I look forward to attempting this and hopefully I can report back with a success.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding CLD-1010
PostPosted: 07 Jul 2021, 04:01 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 1243
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 334 times
Been thanked: 437 times
Well good luck with it. It's been fun for me getting my fleet upgraded. :)

The only other challenge you'll need to work on is finding the points in the player. It shouldn't be too difficult w/ a service manual on hand.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Modding CLD-1010  Topic is solved
PostPosted: 11 Aug 2022, 04:20 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 1509
Has thanked: 442 times
Been thanked: 572 times
Here is how I recently added AC-3 RF:
Attachment:
CLD-1010_Taps.jpeg
CLD-1010_Taps.jpeg [ 334.8 KiB | Viewed 475 times ]

The board is labeled. From top to bottom: +5, -5, GND, A RF.

Here is the photo of the top of the ADEM board:
Attachment:
CLD-1010_ADEM.jpeg
CLD-1010_ADEM.jpeg [ 213.41 KiB | Viewed 475 times ]
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron