It is currently 10 Dec 2022, 03:11




 Page 1 of 2 [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: [CLD-D505] No power
PostPosted: 14 Jul 2022, 05:15 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2022, 04:34
Posts: 20
Location: United States
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0 time
After years of faithful service my Pioneer CLD-D505 will not turn on at all, I don't even get a standby light. I tried to open it up to take a look but I can't get the LD Tray to open up. When I spin the pulley at the front of case it only opens the CD tray at the center. Any help even getting to the power supply would be greatly appreciated and advice when I get to the power supply would be great appreciated also.
Thanks


Attachments:
IMG_0662 (1)2.JPG
IMG_0662 (1)2.JPG [ 33.09 KiB | Viewed 714 times ]
IMG_0664-2.JPG
IMG_0664-2.JPG [ 386.48 KiB | Viewed 714 times ]
IMG_0665-3.JPG
IMG_0665-3.JPG [ 286.33 KiB | Viewed 714 times ]
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pioneer CLD-d505
PostPosted: 14 Jul 2022, 06:21 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 1243
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 334 times
Been thanked: 437 times
Read this posting....

[CLD-D505] No Power / Standby

It appears to cover everything you're seeking.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pioneer CLD-d505
PostPosted: 14 Jul 2022, 07:29 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2022, 04:34
Posts: 20
Location: United States
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0 time
If I understand correctly I need to lift the optical assembly push in the white plastic slider and move the pulley. What I am confused about is how do you safely lift the optical assembly? There is a gear in the front of the assembly that will raise it if turned but it does not appear to be enought. The link provided was helpful but the images it references to are no longer available.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pioneer CLD-d505
PostPosted: 14 Jul 2022, 19:58 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 1243
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 334 times
Been thanked: 437 times
I personally have not had to what you need to do but I assume you gently move the laser pick-up to its standby position with your fingers (don’t move it too fast as it could potentially damage the gears or motor holder). The standby position should be approximately at where the laser would read the most inner track of an LD (not CD).

Then you need to turn the gear on the left front where the loading belt is located and notice if the pick up assembly starts to raise depending on the direction you turn the gear.

Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pioneer CLD-d505
PostPosted: 15 Jul 2022, 00:48 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2022, 04:34
Posts: 20
Location: United States
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Thanks! I was able to move the tray back and get to the power supply. What I can't understand is that the fuse is still good. I did test the continuity on D105 diode and I got no signal at all. Could the diode fail without impacting the fuse?


Attachments:
IMG_0666.1.JPG
IMG_0666.1.JPG [ 331.84 KiB | Viewed 681 times ]
IMG_0668.1.JPG
IMG_0668.1.JPG [ 244.04 KiB | Viewed 681 times ]
IMG_0670.1.JPG
IMG_0670.1.JPG [ 245.54 KiB | Viewed 681 times ]
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pioneer CLD-d505
PostPosted: 15 Jul 2022, 01:50 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 1243
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 334 times
Been thanked: 437 times
Did you check the diode in both directions?

You should get one reading as infinity and the other with some kind of number.

Any yes, certain things can blow and your fuses can still be intact. A fuse is really a last ditch protection to protect the rest of the circuit and sometimes they will continue to blow after being replaced because something else still got through.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pioneer CLD-d505
PostPosted: 15 Jul 2022, 02:50 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2022, 04:34
Posts: 20
Location: United States
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0 time
I put my meter on continuity/diode and checked the diode. I got no reading just 1 in both directions. I then tested the other diodes and got readings. Then I switched to ohms and checked the capacitors and got readings. Could that diode make the power supply not output power? I just question because several posts talked about removing that diode all together.

I really appreciate your help, I am learning so very much. This is a little outside of my field, but I do enjoy a good project.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pioneer CLD-d505
PostPosted: 15 Jul 2022, 05:21 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 1243
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 334 times
Been thanked: 437 times
It does sound like your diode is bad.

If not sure, just remove it and see what happens. If it works, I think you just lose ARC suppression until you replace the diode later.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pioneer CLD-d505
PostPosted: 15 Jul 2022, 06:31 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2022, 04:34
Posts: 20
Location: United States
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Thanks, I removed the diode and still no luck. I am now scratching my head.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pioneer CLD-d505
PostPosted: 15 Jul 2022, 23:49 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 1509
Has thanked: 442 times
Been thanked: 572 times
D105 is a SIDAC. No need to remove it if fuse is not blown.

Unplug everything that connects to power supply except AC power cord. Pin 5 of output should be +5VDC which is basically positive leg of C225. If there is voltage, need to check the front board the display is on.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pioneer CLD-d505
PostPosted: 16 Jul 2022, 02:03 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2022, 04:34
Posts: 20
Location: United States
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0 time
I tested pin 5 and got no voltage. I used the frame for the ground and Pin 5 was clearly labeled on the power supply.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pioneer CLD-d505
PostPosted: 16 Jul 2022, 04:14 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 1509
Has thanked: 442 times
Been thanked: 572 times
With power unplugged check IC211 for continuity. If there is continuity, I'd say there is a fair chance C120 dried up.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pioneer CLD-d505
PostPosted: 16 Jul 2022, 04:47 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2022, 04:34
Posts: 20
Location: United States
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0 time
I did check IC211 and I got continuity so I then switched the meter to ohms and checked C120 and the meter did not range at all. It just stayed at 1 as though there was no current at all. Do I just need to replace C120? If so I think I can desolder it and replace it.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pioneer CLD-d505
PostPosted: 17 Jul 2022, 20:42 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 1509
Has thanked: 442 times
Been thanked: 572 times
At the very least, de-solder it and check again. Capacitance mode on a DMM or an ESR meter can provide clearer indication of failure.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pioneer CLD-d505
PostPosted: 18 Jul 2022, 05:22 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2022, 04:34
Posts: 20
Location: United States
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0 time
I will do that, my multimeter does not have a capacitance mode on it. Will ohms do just as good or should I get a new meter or ESR meter?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pioneer CLD-d505
PostPosted: 18 Jul 2022, 14:07 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 1509
Has thanked: 442 times
Been thanked: 572 times
Unless you are planning to regularly get into repairs, you will save money by just testing what you can with current equipment. High-quality replacement capacitors are usually under $1, but shipping is $5+. I usually order the cap I need as well as those that might also be problematic. Maybe tack on C211.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D505] No power
PostPosted: 19 Jul 2022, 15:54 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2022, 04:34
Posts: 20
Location: United States
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0 time
I appreciate the advice. I ended up ordering an assorted kit of capacitors and a capacator tester. Now I just have to wait for shippping and some free time.

Update: Everything came in and I started testing caps, so far I removed C225, C120 and C211. I removed and tested them with my new capacitor tester and they were okay. I replaced them anyways because I have large supply of capacitors. I also put D105 back in the board as well.

I did notice that I can't find an ohm rating for resistor R102

Also I noticed that the solder joint just to the left at J224 on the outside does not connect. Is that supposed to be?


Attachments:
File comment: No Ohm rating, used every ohm setting on meter. R102
IMG_0687.JPG
IMG_0687.JPG [ 203.63 KiB | Viewed 529 times ]
File comment: Connection left of J224 no connectivity. The solder joint does not connect.
IMG_0686.JPG
IMG_0686.JPG [ 230.77 KiB | Viewed 529 times ]
File comment: Close up image of the connector next to J224. I believe it is the ground?
IMG_06.JPG
IMG_06.JPG [ 64.64 KiB | Viewed 529 times ]
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D505] No power
PostPosted: 20 Jul 2022, 02:14 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 1509
Has thanked: 442 times
Been thanked: 572 times
That spot near J224 should not connect. R102 would be a very high value resistor.

Start with the secondary side. On a safety note: power supplies can be dangerous to work on, particularly malfunctioning ones. When in doubt, look up proper safety information.

If there is no voltage before or after D204, the issue should be on the primary side.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D505] No power
PostPosted: 20 Jul 2022, 02:26 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2022, 04:34
Posts: 20
Location: United States
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 0 time
okay so the resistor is beyond the range of my meter. As for testing the circut am I checking voltage under load/plugged in? If I understand this correctly the primary side is AC and the secondary side is DC. So I should have DC voltage on D204. That will indicate which side of power supply the issue is.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D505] No power
PostPosted: 20 Jul 2022, 03:34 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 1509
Has thanked: 442 times
Been thanked: 572 times
Voltage is rectified at D101, so everything downstream of that is DC. When diagnosing an issue like this, everything should be unplugged from the power supply except the AC power cord going in. The primary side is high voltage.
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2 [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: