It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 13:32

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
 Post subject: [CLD-1450] Disc spinning up intermittently
PostPosted: 18 May 2021, 14:05 
Third post and above
Third post and above

I'm an electronics novice, so thought I'd better try and work out what the problem is, rather than tinkering and doing the wrong thing!

The player (CLD-1450) has been unused for a few years but I'd put my system back together and the player started by spinning up maybe one in three times, in a few days it has dwindled to not at all. When playing the picture/sound was great although chapters took ages to find and quite noisily.

One issue, maybe connected or not, is that the tray will open via button/handset but only closes if physically nudged. When the disc is in, the display shows 'PLAY' and the smaller 'PLAY' flashes as well as the CD/LD/CDV lights. There are noises suggesting that it is trying to find the disc but after ten seconds or so it stops and the display shows 0000m00s and all of the CD/LD/CDV lights are lit.

As I say, the times it worked the picture was fine and play was perfect (and as noiseless as you can get).

Any ideas? If I have to start digging around the inside I would need some advice on things not to do.

Post subject: Re: [CLD-1450] Disc spinning up intermittently
PostPosted: 18 May 2021, 14:16 
Third post and above
Third post and above

pheap wrote:
I'm an electronics novice, so thought I'd better try and work out what the problem is, rather than tinkering and doing the wrong thing!

Any ideas? If I have to start digging around the inside I would need some advice on things not to do.

I should also say that I have tried this with CD and the same thing happens.

PostPosted: 18 May 2021, 16:01 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master

Wonder if the disc is somehow slipping, I would take the top off and see what its doing.

See if the laser is moving or anything, don't touch anything just see what it is or isn't doing.

PostPosted: 18 May 2021, 23:18