It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 16:33

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 
 Post subject: Sony MDP850D power supply
PostPosted: 04 Sep 2014, 12:19 
Hello all this is my first time on here and I hope someone can help.
I have a very nice Sony MDP850D laserdisc player but it has no power I have taken the power supply board out and its dead.
Would any one of you guys have a spare power supply or know of anyone that would be able to repair it for me.
Barry.

Post subject: Re: Sony MDP850D power supply
PostPosted: 04 Sep 2014, 13:09 
Jedi Candidate
Jedi Candidate

I've a Sony MDP850D player. It was the first player I bought back in 2006 but I no longer use it as I've many other machines.
It cannot be used to play 5" CDV/ CDs etc as they will jam and you will endup having to take the top off to get them out!! - that was the case from when I got it even though it was sold to me as working like new! It also suffered from occasional side change issues which I never experienced with any of the Pioneer machines. Sony LD players aren't very good.

In hindsight it wasn't the greatest purchase I made as it was quite expensive, and unreliable however that was my introduction to laserdisc. It cost quite a bit too because it came bundled with a large collection of LDs - many of which were also rotted! I think the seller knew exactly what he was doing when he was listing it on Ebay.

Given the above it is probably an ideal candidate for a donor machine for someone. PM me if you are interested in purchasing.

PostPosted: 04 Sep 2014, 21:19 
Hi new to this and not sure if you got my PM.
Barry

PostPosted: 10 Jul 2019, 22:46 
Honest fan
Honest fan

laserdisc_fan wrote:
I've a Sony MDP850D player. It was the first player I bought back in 2006 but I no longer use it as I've many other machines.
It cannot be used to play 5" CDV/ CDs etc as they will jam and you will endup having to take the top off to get them out!! - that was the case from when I got it even though it was sold to me as working like new!