It is currently 03 Dec 2021, 01:23




 Page 2 of 2 [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: [CDV-W901] Red standby lit, no action power button press
PostPosted: 21 Oct 2021, 15:18 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 20 Apr 2007, 15:18
Posts: 17
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Hi C++,

Thank you for the reply.

Okay, today after plugging in all the cable to the front panel and plugging the power cord back in, the standby light came back - as it has been doing. I press the power button and again the lens was doing its rapid tick.tick.tick.tick (like in the video).

This time, rather than just unplug again, I left the unit plugged in to the power for about five minutes.

I held the power button in and the unit went tick.tick.tick then the ticks started to get slower tick.tick.tick...tick...tick....tick......tick.........tick (you get the idea)

then the Quick Turn light started to flicker whilst I was holding / pressing the power. The the "Side A" flashed, then the Open/Close CD and LD buttons flashed on.

I released the power button and then pressed it again the the unit tried to turn on ! Display lit up. Then the machine powered down.

I pressed the power button again and this time the lens moved up and down the rail / runner at the bottom and the machine powered up.

Then I got a U1 error. uuggh

I then turned it off and went away to think.


Came back a few hours later and had to repeat all of the above just to get it "on" (it seemed to have gone "cold") - again U1. Most likely the rubber belt. I cleaned it and this time the display read "No Disc". Open CD / LD opened their respective trays.

I though I'd give a CD a go. Opened the CD tray, put a CD in, pressed play - tray closed, CD was mounted and unit started to spin the disc. - Error "E3"

had to unplug the unit and manually open the tray to the CD out successfully. Started to the close the tray and that is when I noticed it (two small gears near the lens) -- the M Holder (VNL1700) had now cracked. :(

So that's where I am at-the-moment.


I don't know why the unit started to slowly power-up after being plugged in for five minutes. If there is a problem with the FLKY board shouldn't it either "work" or "not work" -- but here once the unit had been left on for a while and the the power button held in for a bit - you would eventually get a result.

I don't know why this happens / is happening?

Once I get the m holder issue sorted, I'll continue to focus on this.

Cheers
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CDV-W901] Red standby lit, no action power button press
PostPosted: 26 Oct 2021, 04:08 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 1214
Has thanked: 324 times
Been thanked: 399 times
Could very well just boil down to a capacitor issue, etc.

Possible case here could be you attempting to repeatedly turn it on, the unit getting warmer and capacitor ESR lowering, etc. Ton of different explanations though- this is just an example.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CDV-W901] Red standby lit, no action power button press
PostPosted: 11 Nov 2021, 08:10 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 20 Apr 2007, 15:18
Posts: 17
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 1 time
cplusplus wrote:
Could very well just boil down to a capacitor issue, etc.

Possible case here could be you attempting to repeatedly turn it on, the unit getting warmer and capacitor ESR lowering, etc. Ton of different explanations though- this is just an example.


Hello C++, thank you for the reply.

Have got the mholder issue fixed. :)

Yeah, have had the player plugged into the mains, red standby light on, 20 minutes after initially plugging it in, press power and machine powered on.

Tested a few CLV/CAV discs - - ejected the discs and pressed Power off. Left machine plugged in (red standby light on) - throughout the day, did random tests - press power and machine powered up straight away.

So, it's as you say - some ESR levels in the capacitors ( on the power-board ? ).

Next the step would be to: get an ESR meter, check the capacitors, find out which ones are causing this issue, remove them and solder in new ones.

I don't have an ESR meter, nor do I know how to solder -- have watched a few youtube videos - :) or take it to an electrician who could hopefully fix it.

But as long as the player stays plugged in (and the standby light is red) the unit should turn on when power is pressed ...

Cheers
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CDV-W901] Red standby lit, no action power button press
PostPosted: 16 Nov 2021, 15:08 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 1214
Has thanked: 324 times
Been thanked: 399 times
david4 wrote:
So, it's as you say - some ESR levels in the capacitors ( on the power-board ? ).

Some better info here: https://electronics.stackexchange.com/q ... n-the-cold

david4 wrote:
Next the step would be to: get an ESR meter, check the capacitors, find out which ones are causing this issue, remove them and solder in new ones.

I don't have an ESR meter, nor do I know how to solder -- have watched a few youtube videos - :) or take it to an electrician who could hopefully fix it.

Probably cheaper to just do a blind recap of power board. I'd order ones for FLKY too in the event power supply recap doesn't resolve it.

It isn't too bad- the most time consuming part is measuring existing capacitors and noting their values for ordering. You have to ensure you orient them the right way (like batteries) and avoid damaging board while removing them (I use solder sucker, some use braid).
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CDV-W901] Red standby lit, no action power button press
PostPosted: 24 Nov 2021, 15:00 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 20 Apr 2007, 15:18
Posts: 17
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Hi C++, thank you for your reply.


cplusplus wrote:


Thanks for the read - some interesting info there. Guess I'll be keeping the unit plugged into mains fulltime now. :)

Quote:
Probably cheaper to just do a blind recap of power board. I'd order ones for FLKY too in the event power supply recap doesn't resolve it.

It isn't too bad- the most time consuming part is measuring existing capacitors and noting their values for ordering. You have to ensure you orient them the right way (like batteries) and avoid damaging board while removing them (I use solder sucker, some use braid).


Yeah, I have seen many 'how to solder' and 'check ESR levels on capacitors' videos :) -- this will be something to visit in the future when keeping the unit plugged in (on standby) no longer works.
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2 [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: