It is currently 25 Apr 2024, 07:13

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
 Post subject: Variations: Barcode vs. No barcode
PostPosted: 05 Jan 2015, 16:35 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity

Hi all,
I am working on getting my collections entered here and am rather new to the submission process.
Seems many of my discs are the older versions of (pre-barcode) releases and often times I am finding the non-barcoded versions to be absent from the current DB listings.

Looking through some existing shops I notice sellers commonly listing items for sale and simply mention barcode or no barcode in their descriptions. Is this an accepted practice here?

Seems to be to be a bit misleading. Sometimes they are slightly different, I.E. 4 sides vs 3 sides or something.

Perhaps a feature request for easier submitting of an otherwise identical release, without a barcode seems like it could be usefull. However since I have no experience in coding and such... who knows?

Discogs uses a 'copy to draft' feature that is really simple to modify the draft to match your submission and then submit. Not sure how that'd go over here but, something to consider.

Just my $0.02 on the matter.
Thx

Post subject: Re: Variations: Barcode vs. No barcode
PostPosted: 07 Jan 2015, 01:59 
True fan
True fan

Back when I was entering discs from the first couple years of production, this problem cropped up from time to time. What I ended up doing was simply putting a note in the comments section that the first pressing of the title did not have a barcode. Any title released before 1983 did not have one. Hope this helps.

PostPosted: 07 Jan 2015, 04:52 
Site Admin
Site Admin

cykomf wrote:
Seems to be to be a bit misleading. Sometimes they are slightly different, I.E. 4 sides vs 3 sides or something.

I started a clean up work last year on these (usually USA) releases who started their lives without UPC and ended up with one.