It is currently 12 Dec 2019, 17:15




 Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [CLD-S315] Problem during playback (another one)
PostPosted: 10 Jun 2019, 19:42 
Serious fan
Serious fan
User avatar

Joined: 19 Dec 2018, 10:20
Posts: 130
Location: France
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 14 times
Hi there, so I finally got my hand on another player (since my 925 is broken for the moment), It's a Pioneer CLD S315 that I bought for 45€.
So the problem is, with all the discs I've tested (4 so far, 4 that I know by heart and they played perfectly on my 925 when it was still working), there are horizontal lines appearing on the screen from around the 25th minutes and can stay until the end of playback (depends on the discs, don't know why) but the beginning of discs all play perfectly.
A line itself looks like some kind of scanning line effect (no picture sorry, don't have ways to capture Laserdiscs and the effect doesn't appear on a camera) that is going bottom to up or up to bottom.

My guess is there might be a misalignment from the laser (again) but I'd like to know your views on this one.

Well, actually, I've got a way of picturing the effect, the scene in T2 where the T1000 "scans" itself in the steel mill after breaking the arm of the T800, it actually kinda looks like this (not the colors of the lines though, they are purplish or green).

Image
_________________
Loyalty above else, except Honor.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-S315]Problem during playback (another one)
PostPosted: 12 Jun 2019, 00:34 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 5960
Location: United States
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 159 times
Hard to say what it is.
Is there another way to post a pic of video on youtube?
It could possibly be dirt on the disc? If its playing it shouldn't be the player but now you never know.

Could also be dirt on the laser, but no alcohol and very careful to clean the laser.
I've never done this so do it at your own risk.
But wait for others to step in and help.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-S315]Problem during playback (another one)
PostPosted: 12 Jun 2019, 11:54 
Serious fan
Serious fan
User avatar

Joined: 19 Dec 2018, 10:20
Posts: 130
Location: France
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 14 times
So I tested a few more discs to see if it happen again, and yes it has happened on all of the discs I've tested, but I managed to capture the effect quite clearly on camera on one of them (because on this one it was quite big).

Attachment:
File comment: So on this pic, you can see it well, the grayish line on top, so this thing basically moves like a scanning effect on the screen.
20190611_103228.jpg
20190611_103228.jpg [ 82.2 KiB | Viewed 287 times ]


I know it can't be the discs, They all were playing great on my 925.

I've also thought about dirt or other stuff inside the player, haven't opened to see if there is any yet but will check (don't worry, I ain't touching anything this time, open, look, close, that's it)
You are saying not to clean lens with alcohol, why is that, and so what to use (just to know), I never have cleaned an LD player lens before.

Anyway, thanks for your advises.
_________________
Loyalty above else, except Honor.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-S315]Problem during playback (another one)
PostPosted: 12 Jun 2019, 14:49 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 5960
Location: United States
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 159 times
Very few lenses have a coating on them that you can destroy with alcohol, I don't know enough to say which ones will be fine.
I was told years ago windex or window cleaner but this is at your own risk as I don't know if there is anything in that to mess up lasers.

Looks like the drop outs I've seen on warped discs but since you say they played fine before I can't say or know enough.

And when you flip the disc does it still happen?
Example: when you play side A it happens at 25 minutes, when you play side A as side 2 in the player it still happens at 25 minutes?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-S315]Problem during playback (another one)
PostPosted: 12 Jun 2019, 15:31 
Serious fan
Serious fan
User avatar

Joined: 19 Dec 2018, 10:20
Posts: 130
Location: France
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 14 times
Oh ok, didn't know about this for LD lenses.
So I opened the player and looked at the lense, it's clean, so I'm not gonna mess with it.
But I noticed something weird when I looked at the back panel, there is no AC3 output on my player, I didn't saw it earlier, but aren't the 315s supposed to have an ac3 out ?
And yes it happens no matter the side that is played.
_________________
Loyalty above else, except Honor.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-S315]Problem during playback (another one)
PostPosted: 12 Jun 2019, 16:03 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 5960
Location: United States
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 159 times
If it happens no matter which way the disc is I would say more than less that the disc has some warp and this
player is catching it but the other wasn't.

Just put them in a shelf sort of tight like IIIIIIIIIIIIII and they should over time flatten out.
I don't have time but there is a topic about warped discs that you may want to search out and see if that may be the case.

I know I've had that issue were some players would play a disc fine that I know was warped.
It only needs to be very little.

There may be an adjustment for the laser but I feel that this is not a mechanical or player issue. I may be wrong.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-S315]Problem during playback (another one)
PostPosted: 16 Jun 2019, 19:20 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 15 Apr 2012, 10:36
Posts: 500
Location: Norway
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 4 times
There's no AC3 output on your model. There's not many european/UK players that have AC3 output, primarily because of being PAL-only and there are few, if none, PAL AC3 laserdiscs. Most multi video system players do have AC3 from '95 and onwards.
You can always add it, though!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-S315]Problem during playback (another one)
PostPosted: 17 Jun 2019, 15:22 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2017, 15:49
Posts: 27
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Some but not all 315s (and 515s) have AC-3 out. My 515 has the AC-3 board (VWV1499) as did my old 315.

The 315 was PAL/NTSC, the 310 was PAL only.
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: