It is currently 14 Nov 2019, 23:16




 Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dolby Digtal processors used w/LD's w/only Dolby Surround?
PostPosted: 23 Dec 2017, 22:23 
Genuinely interested
Genuinely interested
User avatar

Joined: 07 Nov 2017, 05:22
Posts: 48
Location: United States
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time
I'm wondering how a Pioneer SP-D07/SP-99D or Marantz DP-870 handles laserdiscs that only have Dolby Surround? How well does it separate the channels? I realize it wouldn't be as good as a true D.D. disc. In a post about the SP-D07 [publius] stated:

"The SP-D07 is one of the best you can get. Takes 2-channel sound via analog line (for LD analog or digital audio) or digital (for LD digital audio), & turns it into 5.1-channel sound for connexion at line-level to a multi-channel amplifier. This is especially good for LDs with "Dolby Surround" or the like, which is 2-channel sound mixed down from 4 channels"

I couldn't find any information as to how well it makes 5.1 from Dolby Surround. Anyone have any experience with any of these units used w/older pre D.D. LD's?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dolby Digtal processors used w/LD's w/only Dolby Surroun
PostPosted: 24 Dec 2017, 01:57 
Jedi Initiate
Jedi Initiate
User avatar

Joined: 16 May 2009, 18:05
Posts: 3045
Location: MA USA
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 52 times
Not very well in my opinion.

Dolby Pro Logic processing is the same on all devices with that logo. It’s a licensed sw that Dolby makes. They all use the same exact algorithm. The problem with this unit is it is old. Dolby improved pro logic processing algorithms a number of times since. The most current is Dolby Atmos upmixer.

Besides the antiquated dolby processing, it has old dacs and dsps. You speakers placement and calibration is within 1db and 1m on this unit. Newer processors will do 0.1db and .5 meter accuracy.
_________________
Wanted
HD-VMD Discs
Hi-Vision/Muse Discs Only complete/mint!
Online
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dolby Digtal processors used w/LD's w/only Dolby Surroun
PostPosted: 24 Dec 2017, 03:06 
Genuinely interested
Genuinely interested
User avatar

Joined: 07 Nov 2017, 05:22
Posts: 48
Location: United States
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Thanks substance. I guess I'm confused as to why some mid-90's players had ac-3 rf-out when it seems 1999 was first year of D.D.?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dolby Digtal processors used w/LD's w/only Dolby Surroun
PostPosted: 24 Dec 2017, 10:51 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 03 Oct 2003, 10:06
Posts: 644
Location: at home :p
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 15 times
D.D. on LaserDisc started in January 1995 with Clear and Present Danger (1994) [LV 32463-2WS]
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dolby Digtal processors used w/LD's w/only Dolby Surroun
PostPosted: 25 Dec 2017, 03:33 
Confirmed Padawan
Confirmed Padawan
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 2010, 09:44
Posts: 3814
Location: United States
Has thanked: 100 times
Been thanked: 225 times
clashradio wrote:
Thanks substance. I guess I'm confused as to why some mid-90's players had ac-3 rf-out when it seems 1999 was first year of D.D.?


AC-3 and DD may as well be considered two terms for the same thing. In the LD world there is no separating the two.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dolby Digtal processors used w/LD's w/only Dolby Surroun
PostPosted: 28 Dec 2017, 03:31 
Genuinely interested
Genuinely interested
User avatar

Joined: 07 Nov 2017, 05:22
Posts: 48
Location: United States
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time
So just out of curiosity; if you use a Dolby Digital processor with a LD that only has Dolby Surround, you would use the s/pdif input (either toslink or rca coax) on the processor, not the RF input?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dolby Digtal processors used w/LD's w/only Dolby Surroun
PostPosted: 28 Dec 2017, 03:35 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 24 May 2016, 01:40
Posts: 310
Location: NY USA
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 28 times
If your disc doesn't have ac-3 encoded you won't get anything from the rf out.
_________________
-LD Collection
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dolby Digtal processors used w/LD's w/only Dolby Surroun
PostPosted: 28 Dec 2017, 04:21 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 2569
Location: Tokyo
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 183 times
clashradio wrote:
So just out of curiosity; if you use a Dolby Digital processor with a LD that only has Dolby Surround, you would use the s/pdif input (either toslink or rca coax) on the processor, not the RF input?


Dolby Digital will be only for AC3RF signal demodulated into AC3 (5.1/6.1).

Dolby Surround will coming either from Digital output (stereo) or Analog output (stereo) if present and will be processed as Prologic/Surround taking a 2.0 signal into left/center/right/surround.

Julien
_________________
LDDb on Facebook!
HLD-X9 | LG-1 | RFD-1 | MSC-4000 | Lumagen 2144
DHS-8.8 | Oppo 205 | SL-1200G
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dolby Digtal processors used w/LD's w/only Dolby Surroun
PostPosted: 30 Dec 2017, 15:24 
Genuinely interested
Genuinely interested
User avatar

Joined: 07 Nov 2017, 05:22
Posts: 48
Location: United States
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time
admin wrote:
[Dolby Surround will coming either from Digital output (stereo) or Analog output (stereo) if present and will be processed as Prologic/Surround taking a 2.0 signal into left/center/right/surround.

Julien


As a newbie to AC-3 I bought a Yamaha DDP-1 not realizing at the time Dolby Surround and Dolby Digital were different (most of my discs are D.S.).

I did some tests with a DS & DD disc using the rf-out, and digital-outs (toslink and rca) from the CLD-99:

With the D.S. disc, the DDP-1 recognized no signal when using the digital outputs from the player (and of coarse nothing from the rf)
With the D.D disc, the DDP-1 only had signal when using the RF. I thought the processor would still accept the pcm track from the coax & toslink? And I thought the AC-3 endoing was also on the digital track? Why else would the processor have digital inputs?

So that's why I was wondering how well the SP-99D or Marantz DP-870 handles channel separation on D.S. discs. My D.D. processor does not...
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dolby Digtal processors used w/LD's w/only Dolby Surroun
PostPosted: 30 Dec 2017, 15:56 
Jedi Initiate
Jedi Initiate
User avatar

Joined: 16 May 2009, 18:05
Posts: 3045
Location: MA USA
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 52 times
Don’t waste you time and money on antiquated audio processors. They have moved on a long way. All surround processing, even if you feed analog inputs, happens in digital domain. For digital processing your fpga gate count, processing speed and memory amounts matters. Comparing a 90s audio processor to todays is like a 10 digit calculator vs ipad pro.

Try and buy an avr from the past 3-4 years, with at least dolby pro logic iix or preferably dolby atmos upmixer.

Pro logic
Pro logic ii
Pro logic iix
Pro logic iiz
Atmos upmixer

These are the generations of pro logic processing and things got really improved with the pro logic ii and on wards.
_________________
Wanted
HD-VMD Discs
Hi-Vision/Muse Discs Only complete/mint!
Online
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: