It is currently 06 Aug 2020, 19:53




 Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: [DVL-919] RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 19 Sep 2017, 05:03 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 21 Dec 2002, 18:44
Posts: 899
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 83 times
I've got a DVL-919 with the "world" auto-switching power supply (VWR1287) and I can't get it to power on. This doesn't have the D105 surge circuit, so I can't clip that out. Any ideas? Trying to find a replacement power supply seems to be a challenge, most of the ones I find are the "non-switching" type for 120V only.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVL-919 RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 19 Sep 2017, 07:00 
Honest fan
Honest fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Dec 2016, 21:21
Posts: 75
Location: Gibraltar
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Check R103 and if it is blown, also check Q101.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVL-919 RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 19 Sep 2017, 07:18 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 2981
Location: Tokyo
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 338 times
For once we have the Service Manual :-)

And this one refers to DVL-919 RD/RA "AC110-127/220-240V" as "Automatic select":

http://manuals.lddb.com/LD_Players/Pioneer/DVL/DVL-919/DVL-919_RRV2089-EN_service_manual.pdf

Julien
_________________
LDDb on Facebook!
HLD-X0/X9 | LG-1 RFD-1 MSC-4000 | Lumagen 2144
DHS-8.8 | Oppo 205 | SL-1200G
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVL-919 RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 19 Sep 2017, 15:50 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 21 Dec 2002, 18:44
Posts: 899
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 83 times
kaflo wrote:
Check R103 and if it is blown, also check Q101.


It looks like R103 should be 2.2, but it's reading 2.5. Q101 between D and S is .467, which is the same as Q150, Q151 is .477 (All three are the same part number). Now this is all with the components still on the board.

Is the resistance in R103 (being .3 higher than it should) enough to be a problem, or is this reading mucked up because it's still on the board?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVL-919 RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 19 Sep 2017, 20:15 
Honest fan
Honest fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Dec 2016, 21:21
Posts: 75
Location: Gibraltar
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
No, that is not a problem at all. The resistor seems to be fine. Have you checked the little fuses P213, P612, P311, P214?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVL-919 RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 19 Sep 2017, 21:13 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 21 Dec 2002, 18:44
Posts: 899
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 83 times
kaflo wrote:
No, that is not a problem at all. The resistor seems to be fine. Have you checked the little fuses P213, P612, P311, P214?


Looks like I have an open on P311. Let me get that resolved and we'll see where that goes.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVL-919 RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 19 Sep 2017, 22:14 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 21 Dec 2002, 18:44
Posts: 899
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 83 times
OK. Pain in the a** finding this fuse - PEK1041 1A 60V. Anyone?

I put in a temporary bypass and this has fixed my problem of no power. Now just need a valid replacement fuse. Thanks Kaflo!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVL-919 RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 25 Sep 2017, 21:59 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 21 Dec 2002, 18:44
Posts: 899
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 83 times
$1.50 later, and the power supply is back up and running in the player. I'm sure a repair center (if there were any left) would have charged $200.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVL-919 RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 25 Sep 2017, 22:54 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Sep 2012, 23:14
Posts: 1038
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 123 times
Been thanked: 151 times
blam1 wrote:
$1.50 later, and the power supply is back up and running in the player. I'm sure a repair center (if there were any left) would have charged $200.


That's a great result, an LD player & a 919 to boot lives on :thumbup: .

Regards.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVL-919 RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 25 Sep 2017, 23:57 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 6572
Location: United States
Has thanked: 334 times
Been thanked: 278 times
blam1 wrote:
$1.50 later, and the power supply is back up and running in the player. I'm sure a repair center (if there were any left) would have charged $200.

I'm sure they would have also.
Good to hear you got it running, I don't own this player but did a google search after I read this post and didn't find anything on that fuse.
Where did you find the fuse???
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVL-919 RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 01 Oct 2017, 09:04 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 21 Dec 2002, 18:44
Posts: 899
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 83 times
The fuse rating is silk-screened on the circuit board, and listed in the service manual. I picked up a replacement PICO fuse at the local electronics store.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVL-919 RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 15 Oct 2017, 17:50 
Confirmed Padawan
Confirmed Padawan
User avatar

Joined: 10 Oct 2006, 17:10
Posts: 3751
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Got a picture of the repair and the fuse that was replaced or was you too into the repair for picture taking so that others could benefit from what you did. Well done. :clap:
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DVL-919 RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 13 Nov 2017, 17:28 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 21 Dec 2002, 18:44
Posts: 899
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 83 times
I didn't take pictures unfortunately. Kaflo had me check the fuses on the board, and going through the schematic I located each fuse and tested. I found P311 open when tested with a multi-meter. I pulled that same fuse from a 125v power supply and the auto-switching power supply now works. I put a new PICO fuse in the 125v power supply and it also now works.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [DVL-919] RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 30 Aug 2019, 03:28 
Third post and above
Third post and above
User avatar

Joined: 30 Aug 2019, 03:17
Posts: 3
Location: Singapore
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Hi guys,
Can you please help me? Bought DVL-919 recently in Singapore, was sold as no power. Checked it last night - fuse is blown, replaced the fuse, plug it back - immediately blown again. To access to power supply board I need to disassemble it, but in the service manual I downloaded they show the procedure when the unit can power up and after that, you need to eject the tray. I obviously can't do that so any advice on how to disassemble it with a tray inside?

Let's say I did it, the next question where to look? I'm not much of repairman myself but can solder and understand basics. I read here that I need to search for r105 that can be a reason. From what I see on a power board (which accepts 100-230 the same as in this topic here) is not there. Hard to see though because of the tray.

And one more question: during my observation, I realized that DVD tray can be easily full out bu hand why LD stands in place very firmly. Does it mean the DVD tray is broken?

Thanks a lot in advance!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [DVL-919] RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 30 Aug 2019, 04:16 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 2019, 02:29
Posts: 577
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 51 times
Be careful playing with power supplies. If replacement fuses keep blowing it isn't a good sign, are you sure you used the correct fuse?
I'm not an electrical expert but I am a certified appliance safety tester.
If you don't know what you're doing then pay someone that does.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [DVL-919] RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 30 Aug 2019, 04:53 
Third post and above
Third post and above
User avatar

Joined: 30 Aug 2019, 03:17
Posts: 3
Location: Singapore
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
deadlegion wrote:
Be careful playing with power supplies. If replacement fuses keep blowing it isn't a good sign, are you sure you used the correct fuse?
I'm not an electrical expert but I am a certified appliance safety tester.
If you don't know what you're doing then pay someone that does.


The fuse was the same. And I understand that fuse doesn't blow without reason. However, I still want to try to fix it myself. So any advice about where to look is highly appreciated, thanks!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [DVL-919] RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 30 Aug 2019, 09:24 
Genuinely interested
Genuinely interested
User avatar

Joined: 03 Mar 2019, 15:15
Posts: 47
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 7 times
alugard wrote:
Hi guys,
Can you please help me? Bought DVL-919 recently in Singapore, was sold as no power. Checked it last night - fuse is blown, replaced the fuse, plug it back - immediately blown again. To access to power supply board I need to disassemble it, but in the service manual I downloaded they show the procedure when the unit can power up and after that, you need to eject the tray. I obviously can't do that so any advice on how to disassemble it with a tray inside?

Try this post for details of how to wind out the tray:
https://forum.lddb.com/viewtopic.php?p=99485#p99485
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [DVL-919] RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 30 Aug 2019, 09:44 
Third post and above
Third post and above
User avatar

Joined: 30 Aug 2019, 03:17
Posts: 3
Location: Singapore
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Thanks, will try tonight! Any guidance with other questions of mine?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [DVL-919] RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 30 Aug 2019, 18:42 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 21 Dec 2002, 18:44
Posts: 899
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 83 times
To open the LD tray, spin the white pulley at the front of the player on the left side of the try one direction with your thumb. In one direction, the CD tray will start to move. Go the other direction and the loader mechanism will raise all the way up. From there, go back the other direction. If the CD tray continues to eject, this means the laser pickup is too close to the spindle motor. back the pickup off from the spindle motor - about half way down the travel - and then repeat the operation with the white pulley. The LD tray should open. Once it starts, you can pull it out the rest of the way by hand. There are two keepers on the trailing edge of the tray that need to be pushed aside to pull the tray all the way out. Sometimes there is a keeper screw sticking up at the back of the tray to keep the tray from coming all the way out. If so, simply remove that screw.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [DVL-919] RD/RA No Power
PostPosted: 30 May 2020, 09:21 
Third post and above
Third post and above
User avatar

Joined: 29 May 2020, 20:05
Posts: 3
Location: Russian Federation
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Hello.
I have DVL-919E with no power. After power on red light led is blinking every 2-3 seconds. And nothing more.
Anybody face this problem ? I think that problem with c111 (big Nichicon capacitor).


Last edited by barberon on 30 May 2020, 15:20, edited 2 times in total.
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: