It is currently 20 Jul 2019, 03:50




 Page 2 of 3 [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 13 Mar 2018, 21:52 
Young Padawan
Young Padawan
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 2010, 09:44
Posts: 3512
Location: United States
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 136 times
I posted some pictures in in another thread. So far I have yet to find a problem with it. I’ve mostly been watching anime on it but last night I watched Brazil (CAV Criterion) on it to test it out with more subtle tones. Frankly, I’m really impressed. I’m pretty sure I’m going to unify the two home theaters into one because this new screen does so well with LD. The player is a CLD-604, not even my 99.

I’m sure other people will have complaints but I’m failing to find much issue with it. I imagine they don’t sell this exact display in Oz though and I can’t recomend any other TV since my experience is limited. One would assume the larger Bravias in the same series would all do is well but you never know. I would say 2017 4K HDR Bravia is the safest bet of all...but again, no promises.

FYI: it also handles all normal ratios well with options. I know that’s an issue with some cheap Korean sets that sometimes don’t stretch or zoom in as many ways as they need to to make LDs good. This will handle 4:3, letterboxed, or squeeze.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 14 Mar 2018, 07:33 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 01 May 2016, 06:38
Posts: 1330
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 93 times
Been thanked: 43 times
Cool, okay. I respect your opinion here.

signofzeta wrote:
FYI: it also handles all normal ratios well with options. I know that’s an issue with some cheap Korean sets that sometimes don’t stretch or zoom in as many ways as they need to to make LDs good. This will handle 4:3, letterboxed, or squeeze.


That's interesting thanks. Is there an underscan adjustment feature? I find that most useful on my DVDO.
_________________
Sony MDP-650, Sony MDP-355GX, Sony KVHR M36, DVDO VP-50
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 19 Mar 2018, 03:19 
Third post and above
Third post and above
User avatar

Joined: 23 Feb 2018, 21:05
Posts: 6
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
My fist post :D.
I'm sorry to hijack this thread but I'm having a similar issue hooking up my LD player to my 4k tv. Not really a issue more playing it over in my mind of the best course of action.
The CLD-99 is on it's way from Korea to Australia as I type this but I do have a old Pioneer CLD-1450 that I can use to experiment in the meantime. I just want to know what I need to get before the 99 arrives so I can dive in and enjoy LD goodness again.

Specs List:

Sony 4KTV KD75x850c
Onkyo 4K Receiver TX NR-646
Crystalio II 3300
Pioneer CLD-99 (HF-9G) is my main player. CLD-1450 as my backup and PAL player.
Pioneer RFD-1 Demodulator

I'm guessing it is best to output the LD player via composite to HDMI converter ( https://www.jaycar.com.au/composite-av- ... r/p/AC1722 ) to the Crystalio II?
Or should I be composite ---> component--->Crystalio II?
Do I need to get a better converter or will this do? I'm guessing it's passing a signal and not actually changing the picture or audio in terms of quality or is it degrading it?
Crystalio II via HDMI to the Onkyo and then to the TV for the best result?
Or bypass the Onkyo and go via HDMI into the TV via the Crystalio?
Using the audio from the RFD-1 Demodulator into the Onkyo?
Or should I input the audio into the Crystalio and then passthrough via HDMi back into the receiver?

Sorry lot's of questions and I guess options of ways to get the best picture and sound while mixing up old and new tech! Thank you for reading and hopefully giving up some ideas and answers.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 19 Mar 2018, 04:09 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 5632
Location: United States
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 100 times
I don't have any of the above gear but your best would be to run the yellow video into the TV or the yellow video into the crystallo then into the TV.
Less is more.

Also if you are doing audio I would run that through whatever first as there may be some type of delay but others will help you out on that one.
Online
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 19 Mar 2018, 04:27 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 2384
Location: France
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 137 times
kentox wrote:
Crystalio II 3300
Pioneer RFD-1 Demodulator


Based on your setup, I would assume the optimal path would be:

LD Player => (Composite) => Crystalio for video on Analog Video In
LD Player => RFD-1 (auto-switch between coax and AC3RF) => Crystalio for sound on Digital Audio In

I'm quite sure the CII is able to combine both and output it via HDMI to your A/V Amp. After that it shouldn't matter if you hop from the Amp to the Display since you're already in the digital world and additional hops shouldn't alter the picture along the way (remove DNRs).

Julien
_________________
LDDb on Facebook!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 19 Mar 2018, 06:20 
Third post and above
Third post and above
User avatar

Joined: 23 Feb 2018, 21:05
Posts: 6
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Attachment:
crystalio II Back Panel.jpg
crystalio II Back Panel.jpg [ 107.04 KiB | Viewed 1219 times ]


Thank you for your comments and helping me see the light!

I think I finally have figured out after reading the instructions again and again!

A single yellow female to male composite cable running from the LD player ----> Crystalio II into the Component 3 section (Video 1) input.

Standard Red & White composite cable from the LD player into the back of the Crystalio II along with the Optical & AC3 output from the Demodulator.

Crystalio II HDMI out to the Onkyo!!!!!!!

Passthrough the audio to the receiver and hopefully I should have a pretty picture and great sound to boot.

Now just need to get a male to female cable!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 19 Mar 2018, 15:36 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 5632
Location: United States
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 100 times
From that picture you will need the male to male cable, only thing you would need is a BNC adapter or a BNC to whatever you are connecting your crystalo to.
So a BNC to Yellow composite video.

And you may need just the connector BNC to RCA, I have a few if I ever have this type of situation.
Online
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 19 Mar 2018, 22:26 
Third post and above
Third post and above
User avatar

Joined: 23 Feb 2018, 21:05
Posts: 6
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
I have the cable but was thinking of getting a better quality one but I'm not sure if it make a difference.

And yes I'll pick up some BNC adapters and hopefully all is well.

Thanks again.

Kent
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2018, 01:53 
Third post and above
Third post and above
User avatar

Joined: 23 Feb 2018, 21:05
Posts: 6
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
So I ordered a new composite cable and rca audio to go from the LD player into the Crystalio.
I have LD picture but in B&W but the Crystalio menu is in colour and I reset the Crystalio to see if it was a setting that I set that was wrong. I'm playing Star Wars just incase you think I'm playing Casablanca instead :)
Also no sound being output. Have enabled passthrough via HDMI for output and have selected audio input via analog audio 1

I have my old CLD-1450 plugged in ( CLD-99 still hasn't arrived )
I'm not using the demodulator it's straight rca audio from LD player into the Crystalio and HDMI into the receiver.

Really not sure what the issue is. Colour settings are all currently at default.

Will keep fiddling.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2018, 03:55 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 5632
Location: United States
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 100 times
Sounds like it has something to do with the Pal to NTSC, is there some type of setting for that inside the crystalio, or another thing could be that some people
turn all the color settings to off when playing a black and white film so you get a better B&W image.

Check those, otherwise I have no idea.
Online
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2018, 04:01 
Third post and above
Third post and above
User avatar

Joined: 23 Feb 2018, 21:05
Posts: 6
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
I'm not sure. I have the colour settings on default and auto detect for any inputs into Video 1 and outputs via HDMI so it would pick up Pal or NTSC signals and adjust. I did a factory reset thinking it could a random setting and would just go back to a normal but alas no. Will just hook up the LD player to my receiver and see what that looks like.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2018, 04:19 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 5632
Location: United States
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 100 times
I would change the auto setting, that could be an issue. I sort of remember that I had an issue with some type of device years ago and auto was not a good choice.
Online
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2018, 05:04 
Third post and above
Third post and above
User avatar

Joined: 23 Feb 2018, 21:05
Posts: 6
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
For now I've just hooked up the LD player to the receiver and it all works fine. Will come back to the crystalio one day when I have a bit more time.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 24 Mar 2018, 10:30 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 03 Oct 2003, 10:06
Posts: 630
Location: at home :p
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 11 times
kentox wrote:
Have enabled passthrough via HDMI for output


This might be the problem.
Passthrough means, signal goes out untouched, just as it comes in.
That is not really what you want to use a Video Processor for, unless you input a 1080p signal.
You have a setup configuration problem (most likely).
Crystallio can work with PAL and NTSC signals, no problem.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 27 Mar 2018, 21:01 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 21 Jun 2010, 20:03
Posts: 441
Location: TN, United States
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Those are some impressive results!

I'm just wondering if they will ever come up with a new TV that approaches the filmlike quality of plasmas or the xbr960.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 27 Mar 2018, 22:28 
Young Padawan
Young Padawan
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 2010, 09:44
Posts: 3512
Location: United States
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 136 times
IMO the new Bravias are extremely close. They’ll never be exactly the same as Kuro (I have a XBR 960 and IMO Kuro is at least as good) because they will of course be dealing with totally different stuff but I think we’re finally there or at least very close. I’ve decided to merge my SD and HD home theaters* because of the 2017 4K Bravia, which is not something I do lightly. I didn’t buy the TV for this reason. I didn’t even hook and LD player to it for the first few months after I got it. I did it on a lark and was very surprised.

I had long theorized that having more pixels to deal with would help with SD up conversion. This doesn’t prove it, but it doesn’t disprove it either. Even though you have to use a 8mm adaptor to physically plug it in, SD still matters to some people at Sony.

If the LD itself has that “filmic” vibe (ie: the best pre-digital mastering days stuff like Criterion CAV Robin Hood or early Star Wars pressings) then this TV will not destroy it, even though it has all sorts of high tech shenanigans going on.

I would love for someone else with experience with new Bravias to give their opinion on this. I’m not as good at noticing some of the upconversion problems that other people are.






* I’m pretty sure that I will be SD only for classic gaming forever.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 05 Apr 2018, 13:44 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 27 Jun 2014, 07:12
Posts: 454
Location: France
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Disagree, Led ruins LD motion perfection
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 05 Apr 2018, 16:08 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 5632
Location: United States
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 100 times
ertoili wrote:
Disagree, Led ruins LD motion perfection

:shock: Since when.
I own an LED set and its fine with no issues.
Its all trial and error with the LD world now.
Online
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 05 Apr 2018, 17:27 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 27 Jun 2014, 07:12
Posts: 454
Location: France
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Well Led its fine and understand that some people don't want to deal anymore with second or third hand dirty old heavy washing machines like CRT tv's but there is still big advantage on the motion clarity dptment
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are you using to upscale your LD Player on New 4K T
PostPosted: 05 Apr 2018, 17:57 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 5632
Location: United States
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 100 times
ertoili wrote:
Well Led its fine and understand that some people don't want to deal anymore with second or third hand dirty old heavy washing machines like CRT tv's but there is still big advantage on the motion clarity dptment

:? I had CRTs new and after finding this flat screen I'll never go back to a new or old and dirty CRT.
Its just not worth it, I still feel they aren't TVs and just computer monitors but overall I've been happy with mine, but then again if I wasn't
I would have returned it to get another one that worked right for me and my eyes.
Online
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3 [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: