It is currently 09 Dec 2019, 06:17




 Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Video Through AV Receiver
PostPosted: 26 Jul 2018, 01:58 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 28 Mar 2018, 14:20
Posts: 27
Location: United States
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Anyone have luck running their video through their receiver? I have a Marantz SR-780 (w/ built in AC3 demodulator). The specs say it has also has a built in seperator, so I thought it was worth trying out. So I connected composite from my CLD-79 to the SR-780 Then s-video out to the TV. Receiver to TV is good because I can see the receiver's on screen display. Displays confirms video is set to LD as the source. So it's either not seeing the LD in or it's not converting the LD to s-video. Question is, if it cannot convert LD, why have the LD input option at all?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video Through AV Receiver
PostPosted: 26 Jul 2018, 02:58 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 5953
Location: United States
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 157 times
I was never able to convert my S-video to RCA.
If you use RCA in you need to use RCA out.

Same in same out.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video Through AV Receiver
PostPosted: 26 Jul 2018, 03:04 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 28 Mar 2018, 14:20
Posts: 27
Location: United States
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time
So if it's RCA in and RCA out, is there then any benefit to running video through the receiver?

rein-o wrote:
I was never able to convert my S-video to RCA.
If you use RCA in you need to use RCA out.

Same in same out.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video Through AV Receiver
PostPosted: 26 Jul 2018, 03:13 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 2590
Location: Tokyo
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 185 times
sgtdave wrote:
Anyone have luck running their video through their receiver? I have a Marantz SR-780 (w/ built in AC3 demodulator).


I found the Service Manual here: https://www.electronica-pt.com/esquema/func-download/31164/chk,f1c135f66cde862f76cdc9c7e8d29e4e/no_html,1/

It has indeed the Pioneer PA4007A AC3RF demodulator (page 5/43) turning AC3 into bitstream that the YSS243 AC3 decoder processes.

However, if you look bottom-left of that page, the VIDEO and S-VIDEO sections do not cross.

You A/V Amp will not transform Composite to S-Video or S-Video to Composite.
You need to use same IN and OUT for video.

Julien
_________________
LDDb on Facebook!
HLD-X9 | LG-1 | RFD-1 | MSC-4000 | Lumagen 2144
DHS-8.8 | Oppo 205 | SL-1200G
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video Through AV Receiver
PostPosted: 26 Jul 2018, 03:16 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 5953
Location: United States
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 157 times
:think: Some can process the signal.
It makes it easier to select LD, DVD, Bluray. TV or Projector etc.

Sometimes you may get a lag between the audio and video, so running through the same unit and then out to your monitor will hopefully eliminate that issue.

Lots of pros and cons, its not a clear yes or no.
I don't even have an AV anymore, just an audio amplifier.

So it all depends on what end game you are trying to achieve.
Since your unit has AC3 you obviously wanted it for that? So just connect the AC-3 and turn it on when you want, but make sure the audio and video is in sync.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video Through AV Receiver
PostPosted: 26 Jul 2018, 03:21 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 2590
Location: Tokyo
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 185 times
sgtdave wrote:
So if it's RCA in and RCA out, is there then any benefit to running video through the receiver?


The advantage (in a 90's world with a lot of analog video/audio sources) was to use the A/V Amp as a switch between various sources to output to a single video PER TYPE.

Typically my receiver would get:

  • COMPOSITE 1, 2, 3 to COMPOSITE OUT
  • S-VIDEO 1, 2, 3 to S-VIDEO OUT
  • COMPONENT 1, 2 to COMPONENT OUT

And on the other side I had to wire Composite, S-Video, Component to the display.

I solved all of that with a Video Scaler.
Everything goes to HDMI 4K out now.

=> http://forum.lddb.com/viewtopic.php?p=91476#p91476

Julien
_________________
LDDb on Facebook!
HLD-X9 | LG-1 | RFD-1 | MSC-4000 | Lumagen 2144
DHS-8.8 | Oppo 205 | SL-1200G
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video Through AV Receiver
PostPosted: 15 Sep 2018, 17:48 
Honest fan
Honest fan
User avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2018, 02:00
Posts: 80
Location: United States
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 8 times
Just curious, in theory could I swap out the ABT2010 chip in my Yamaha receiver for the ABT2015?

I stumbled across Anchor Bay's info sheet which proudly proclaimed "The ABT2015 is pin-for-pin compatible with the ABT2010."

Other than it being technically beyond my ability for the de-solder/re-solder, what would the results be?
What "improvments" are on the 2015 that are not on the 2010?
Would it be more like swapping out a CPU where everything just works better,
or would firmware be necessary to access new features making this have little or no difference w/o it.

I do have a local repair guy I might trust & the part isn't very expensive.
Thanks.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video Through AV Receiver
PostPosted: 15 Sep 2018, 21:11 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 5953
Location: United States
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 157 times
Man, its one of those 56 pin chips?? If your guy can do it then give it a shot.

I have no idea what extra you will get from it, also it may be a drop in exact but it may not be programmed for the rest of the unit.

Also I didn't think people could do those, or I may be too old to understand such things anymore :crazy:

I want to edit this, I didn't think Humans could do this, I thought only factory machines could install these chips.


Last edited by rein-o on 16 Sep 2018, 02:06, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video Through AV Receiver
PostPosted: 15 Sep 2018, 23:08 
Jedi Initiate
Jedi Initiate
User avatar

Joined: 16 May 2009, 18:05
Posts: 3062
Location: MA USA
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 53 times
remav wrote:
Just curious, in theory could I swap out the ABT2010 chip in my Yamaha receiver for the ABT2015?

I stumbled across Anchor Bay's info sheet which proudly proclaimed "The ABT2015 is pin-for-pin compatible with the ABT2010."

Other than it being technically beyond my ability for the de-solder/re-solder, what would the results be?
What "improvments" are on the 2015 that are not on the 2010?
Would it be more like swapping out a CPU where everything just works better,
or would firmware be necessary to access new features making this have little or no difference w/o it.

I do have a local repair guy I might trust & the part isn't very expensive.
Thanks.


No difference whatsoever. If not worsen
_________________
Wanted
HD-VMD Discs
Hi-Vision/Muse Discs Only complete/mint!
Online
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video Through AV Receiver
PostPosted: 17 Sep 2018, 17:43 
Honest fan
Honest fan
User avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2018, 02:00
Posts: 80
Location: United States
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 8 times
I Guess I won't be going down any 2010>2015 upgrade path then (if it were ever even possible)
...so moving on. You stated that I should go with the composite rather than the s-video. Does that still hold true for my DVL-700? Going back through posts on players I see that it doesn't have a direct composite out, so I guess some processing that I don't really want has already occurred at the output.
Also, my "rack" is really an arch & I currently have the LD about 10 ft away from my receiver. I can't recall how sensitive the composite signal is do to distance of cable (or s-video for that matter). Am I still OK? I recently purchased some longer HDMI cables so I could swap things around so the HDMI equipment is at the far end.
(That job kind of makes me shudder, but we're all trying to squeeze out that last 10% of picture quality that probably isn't there to begin with, right?)


Last edited by remav on 17 Sep 2018, 22:20, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video Through AV Receiver
PostPosted: 17 Sep 2018, 19:10 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 5953
Location: United States
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 157 times
Yellow for video, RGB component for DVD only.

I have a 50ft cable and don't see a loss, shorter is better but quality you can sometimes buy cheap too.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video Through AV Receiver
PostPosted: 21 Oct 2018, 23:56 
Honest fan
Honest fan
User avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2018, 02:00
Posts: 80
Location: United States
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 8 times
rein-o wrote:
Yellow for video, RGB component for DVD only.

I have a 50ft cable and don't see a loss, shorter is better but quality you can sometimes buy cheap too.


Just got around to switching cables from S-video to Composite (braille method 8-) ) on my Yamaha RX-Z7. Only 12 ft, but 2 cables & one is a so-so quality extension. Seems to work just fine, but WOW there are lots of options to consider. So, the next step is to adjust the settings on the receiver's comb & other video basic settings. I have my choice of using a DVD or I think the WOW THX disk has video setup patterns on it doesn't it? Since the player will play either is there any concern using the DVD, which I believe is more complete? (Yea, I'll probably end up using both lol) Just wondering how different the DVD video path is to the LD section of the Pioneer combi player? (DVL-700)
& any rules of thumb for starting settings on the newer COMB filter if any? mosquito noise (off, L,M,H?) block/edge/detail etc?

Thanks!
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video Through AV Receiver
PostPosted: 22 Oct 2018, 00:37 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 5953
Location: United States
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 157 times
In order to get the best results you should use an LD to setup your set for LD and a DVD for the DVD parts.

Should also use a different selection on your TV i.e. Video 1 for LD and Video 2 for DVD.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Video Through AV Receiver
PostPosted: 24 Oct 2018, 01:38 
Honest fan
Honest fan
User avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2018, 02:00
Posts: 80
Location: United States
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 8 times
rein-o wrote:
In order to get the best results you should use an LD to setup your set for LD and a DVD for the DVD parts.

Should also use a different selection on your TV i.e. Video 1 for LD and Video 2 for DVD.


Yes, that makes sense, especially since there are 2 composite outputs on the player it would be easy, however I will not be using my LD to play DVDs.
But since you suggest I might well expect that using a DVD for video setup may not equate to same results on the LD output I'll just have to experiment.
Thanks
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: