It is currently 18 Oct 2019, 22:02




 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Yamaha APD-2, what transformer can I use?
PostPosted: 19 Nov 2018, 12:13 
Genuinely interested
Genuinely interested
User avatar

Joined: 16 Nov 2018, 14:21
Posts: 38
Location: Ireland (Republic of)
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Hello.

I have a Yamaha APD-2 and have not powered it on to test it yet. I need to make sure it works on 3 PIN, UK/Ireland power. Can anyone recommend a good quality transformer to use safely with it? I don't want to risk damaging it with a cheap transformer, but don't want to spend a lot of money either on something over the top.

Thanks!
_________________
My Collection
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-2, what transformer can I use?
PostPosted: 19 Nov 2018, 12:31 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 2506
Location: Tokyo
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 174 times
The APD-1/APD-2 are running in low 5~6W power, they don't need much to be happy.

However, you didn't describe which model you are using right now: European (230V), USA (110V) or Japan (100V)?

Julien
_________________
LDDb on Facebook!
HLD-X9 | LG-1 | RFD-1 | MSC-4000 | Lumagen 2144
DHS-8.8 | Oppo 205 | SL-1200G
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-2, what transformer can I use?
PostPosted: 19 Nov 2018, 12:34 
Genuinely interested
Genuinely interested
User avatar

Joined: 16 Nov 2018, 14:21
Posts: 38
Location: Ireland (Republic of)
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Ah yes, I forgot that part! The model I have is from Japan so 100v. I've never powered it on so I don't want to risk blowing it.

I have a couple of transformers that I've used in the past to power old Japanese video game consoles like the PC Engine Duo R and had no problems, but I'd rather use something substantial just to be sure as I know the APD-2 isn't exactly something you can find easily/for a good price.
_________________
My Collection
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-2, what transformer can I use?
PostPosted: 19 Nov 2018, 12:43 
Shows curiousity
Shows curiousity
User avatar

Joined: 18 May 2018, 12:08
Posts: 31
Location: Sweden
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 1 time
I also have the Japanese version of the ADP-1 and i'm looking for a good transformer.

I have glanced this webpage https://airlinktransformers.com/category/japan-uk-voltage-converters and contemplated getting the white little adapter, thinking it should be sufficient. The drawback for me is that i need to convert the 3prong UK connector to a European one. The other converters are huge but I think its overkill for such a small device as the ADP-1/2 :)
_________________
HLD X9
CLD D925
CLD D504
CLD 950
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yamaha APD-2, what transformer can I use?
PostPosted: 19 Nov 2018, 13:54 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 23:37
Posts: 2506
Location: Tokyo
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 174 times
That looks perfect for a few low power Japanese devices in the UK:

https://airlinktransformers.com/product/japan-uk-voltage-converter-uk-ja0050

Image

If you intend to get more Japanese devices, you might want a slightly bigger one with a multi-socket strip.

Julien
_________________
LDDb on Facebook!
HLD-X9 | LG-1 | RFD-1 | MSC-4000 | Lumagen 2144
DHS-8.8 | Oppo 205 | SL-1200G
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: