It is currently 21 Oct 2020, 03:34




 Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: [CLD-D503] Adding a digital optical out
PostPosted: 26 May 2020, 20:53 
Knows how to post
Knows how to post
User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2020, 20:32
Posts: 13
Location: United States
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Hey everyone, I'm an old school user but somehow I lost my login or can't seem to be able to retrieve it so I just made a new one. Anyways, during all this lockdown stuff I decided to go through and cleanup all my A/V equipment. One of them is my D503 which I've own since new that I bought at Circuit City back in '94.

Anyways, while totally going through it and tearing it apart and cleaning it, greasing it up, etc I forgot that it DID NOT have any digital outputs of any type :(

Then after looking at the service manuals, some beers and google-fu skills I came up with this...

Adding a digital audio out (not Ac3 rf)

So the back of my player / board looks like the JPG I attached... with an open port / place for what looks like this..

https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/everlight-electronics-co-ltd/PLT133-T/1080-1428-ND/2693975

Which looks like this would just go right in ???
https://www.digikey.dk/product-detail/en/everlight-electronics-co-ltd/PLT133-T9/1080-1429-ND/2693986

Sorry, I can't figure out how to paste or plug in multiple images.. anyways, it seems to me like this would work? Just adding the TOSLINK plug? Maybe there's a cap (C895) right there missing?

Anybody else every add a optical out to any of these? Or any I just wasting my time on a perfectly PRISTINE working machine.

Thanks and stay safe everyone!
Jason


Attachments:
20200525_125402-1.jpg
20200525_125402-1.jpg [ 211.54 KiB | Viewed 856 times ]
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding digital optical out on CLD-D503
PostPosted: 26 May 2020, 21:43 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 6778
Location: United States
Has thanked: 409 times
Been thanked: 337 times
I don't know but I wouldn't bother.
You may be dealing with an issue of chips inside not having the info you need once you add your toslink and then it not working.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding digital optical out on CLD-D503
PostPosted: 26 May 2020, 22:17 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2018, 03:18
Posts: 491
Has thanked: 121 times
Been thanked: 119 times
C895 should be a 10v 100uf cap, not sure if it is a simple as that though.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding digital optical out on CLD-D503
PostPosted: 26 May 2020, 22:34 
Knows how to post
Knows how to post
User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2020, 20:32
Posts: 13
Location: United States
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Don't know.. seeing as the service manual shows the 503/703 (same model??) has an optical output and figuring that the board has the spot there just waiting for a TOSLINK plug, I'd figure it would be worth a shot.

Again, don't know if its worth messing up a perfectly pristine unit but it seems like its just waiting for me to mod it!! ;)

All I really want or need is CD/SACD digital output so maybe I should just go on ebay and pickup a used player/ transport cheap?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding digital optical out on CLD-D503
PostPosted: 26 May 2020, 23:08 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 10 May 2007, 03:12
Posts: 1280
Location: United States
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 135 times
It should work, there could be jumpers missing on the board to supply the power or the signal so just check all the data paths if you do it.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding digital optical out on CLD-D503
PostPosted: 27 May 2020, 00:29 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 2010, 09:44
Posts: 4688
Location: United States
Has thanked: 384 times
Been thanked: 490 times
jasona wrote:
Don't know.. seeing as the service manual shows the 503/703 (same model??) has an optical output and figuring that the board has the spot there just waiting for a TOSLINK plug, I'd figure it would be worth a shot.

Again, don't know if its worth messing up a perfectly pristine unit but it seems like its just waiting for me to mod it!! ;)

All I really want or need is CD/SACD digital output so maybe I should just go on ebay and pickup a used player/ transport cheap?


With some research it’s likely that this is possible to do with little effort but not as little effort as just not doing it. Digital outputs seem essential to people in our modern time but truly they aren’t that important for LD usually. You need it for DTS LDs but in no way do you need any DTS LDs. They are required for making digital copies of CDs onto MiniDiscs but again if you aren’t already into MD just skip that. And I’m not sure if that was a typo or something but this LD player is older than SACDs and can’t play them. Furthermore SACDs never have a full quality digital output either so it has nothing to do with SACD at all.

The only advantage of using the digital out on an LD player to watch regular LDs is when the DAC in your receiver is better than the one in the player in some meaningful way you can actually use. Like if your receiver is very modern and very cheap and can’t do surround from analog sources as well then you may want a digital out.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding digital optical out on CLD-D503
PostPosted: 27 May 2020, 01:16 
Knows how to post
Knows how to post
User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2020, 20:32
Posts: 13
Location: United States
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time
I get it and thanks for all the replies everyone, I really appreciate! Sitting here bored locked up in the house, the wife is driving me crazy so I find myself out in the garage more and more!! :crazy: :crazy: which means more beer and wine and looking for things to do! :twisted:

I don't have a "good" dedicated CD player anymore (only the 503) but I have tons of CD's and MD's both pre-recorded and mixed up ones (but just my original MD portable player). Prob about 40 or 50 MD's and 800+ CDs.

Maybe I won't go this route and just get a "decent" CD/DVD transport unit for cheap. I used to have a SD-9200 ages ago and lost it when I moved (brother dropped it down a flight of stairs), maybe I'll pick one up.

But I just dug out my old Sennheiser's and wanted to get back into some headphone listening and seeing all the cool new DAC/ headphone amps they have now, I need a optical out.

If anyone has any other recommendations on a cd-player with digital out, I'd appreciate it!

Thanks again!
Jason
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D503] Adding a digital optical out
PostPosted: 27 May 2020, 02:14 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
User avatar

Joined: 03 May 2004, 19:05
Posts: 6778
Location: United States
Has thanked: 409 times
Been thanked: 337 times
I really think you are better off buying an older CD dedicated player under 50-60 or pickup a really decent high end DVD
or Bluray player so you can enjoy your CDs.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D503] Adding a digital optical out
PostPosted: 27 May 2020, 07:15 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 633
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 139 times
jasona wrote:
.. anyways, it seems to me like this would work? Just adding the TOSLINK plug? Maybe there's a cap (C895) right there missing?


The empty toslink cutout could work if you can verify that the power and signal connections actually still go there. If you have a voltmeter set on continuity mode, you can follow the digital out back to the DSP chip as follows....


Image




If you follow it carefully, it should end up @ pin 43.


Image





jasona wrote:
Anybody else every add a optical out to any of these? Or any I just wasting my time on a perfectly PRISTINE working machine.


It's very doable. I'm still working on adding one to my CLD-M90. I plan on using this kit to make it happen....

Image


And as an FYI... here is where the digital output is located on this player (I have already researched if this digital out connection leads back to an empty toslink socket and I verified that it does not).

Image


Last edited by ldfan on 27 May 2020, 09:36, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D503] Adding a digital optical out
PostPosted: 27 May 2020, 08:40 
True fan
True fan
User avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2014, 20:59
Posts: 302
Location: North London
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 94 times
If you can do it, I say go for it. Would be interesting to know if it will work. Even if it's just something to do.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D503] Adding a digital optical out
PostPosted: 27 May 2020, 12:32 
Serious fan
Serious fan
User avatar

Joined: 10 May 2007, 17:00
Posts: 204
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 5 times
odotb3 wrote:
If you can do it, I say go for it. Would be interesting to know if it will work. Even if it's just something to do.

Well said. The optical port ought to export the signal from CDs too, which is useful if recording on a MD or DAT machine, for instance.

Kudos if it works.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D503] Adding a digital optical out
PostPosted: 27 May 2020, 16:12 
Knows how to post
Knows how to post
User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2020, 20:32
Posts: 13
Location: United States
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time
That's cool, I think I'll pick up a toslink connector for a few bucks and that cap (C895) just in case its in line with the 5v+ and see what happens. I'll post all the pics and everything once the parts come in and progress.

I'm in the USA/ CA so hopefully I can get these quickly.

As for the DVD/CD transport, I hear ya all... I might just go that route as well.. I just like hacking/modding things like when I first got my Nissan Leaf I had to hack the CANBUS, then the Rav4EV (Tesla drive train).. then the S/X, etc..

Just stuff to do! ;)
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D503] Adding a digital optical out
PostPosted: 27 May 2020, 16:17 
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
User avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 2010, 09:44
Posts: 4688
Location: United States
Has thanked: 384 times
Been thanked: 490 times
Ah, youth.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D503] Adding a digital optical out
PostPosted: 27 May 2020, 16:26 
Knows how to post
Knows how to post
User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2020, 20:32
Posts: 13
Location: United States
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time
LOL... not that young, just lots of time and still have energy (thank goodness for that!).. I'm in the middle of doing a massive cloud migration for my company from on-prem Exchange to O365 and sitting here all day in front of a screen is boring the hell outta me!

Just ordered the parts from Digi-Key!! $7 total and will be here by the weekend so we'll have a cool project to test!

Or a D503 to repair :shock:
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D503] Adding a digital optical out
PostPosted: 28 May 2020, 19:17 
Hardcore fan
Hardcore fan
User avatar

Joined: 05 Dec 2006, 19:08
Posts: 1131
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 13 times
easy enough on a cld-d515. connect the trace after r895. put the cap behind the actual toslink once fitted. cutting the hole can be challenging.... I simply robbed a piece of back panel from a donor player....

Pioneer S315,D515 DTS mod (WORKING)


Attachments:
23795236_188651835027319_186956708409422876_n resized.jpg
23795236_188651835027319_186956708409422876_n resized.jpg [ 34.3 KiB | Viewed 734 times ]
_________________
CLD-D925
CLD-99elite
CLD-959
CLD-D703
LexiconLDD-1
LumagenXD
SR-7007
RMB-1585
DMP-UB900
TX-58DX780E
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D503] Adding a digital optical out
PostPosted: 28 May 2020, 21:20 
Knows how to post
Knows how to post
User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2020, 20:32
Posts: 13
Location: United States
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time
That's cool! Thanks kris for the link and support!! :clap: Even through the boards I bet (or think) are totally different between the 503/703 and 315/513 I bet it's the same principal or dealio.

The parts are getting here tomorrow from DigiKey then I'll have the whole weekend to pull apart, film, take pics / show and tell, etc.

I'll trace back to the DSP to make sure the trace is going to the chip / digital output as was told above by LDFAN, then I'll get that hole drilled, etc..

Should be a fun time :lol:
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D503] Adding a digital optical out
PostPosted: 30 May 2020, 01:11 
Knows how to post
Knows how to post
User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2020, 20:32
Posts: 13
Location: United States
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Cool things are about to happen!! The unboxing is starting!!!

https://youtu.be/PIvrYMqI8wQ

My baby! Owned her since new.. RIP Circuit City..
Attachment:
20200529_173335.jpg
20200529_173335.jpg [ 370.45 KiB | Viewed 694 times ]

Attachment:
20200529_173411.jpg
20200529_173411.jpg [ 325.71 KiB | Viewed 694 times ]


Attachments:
20200529_164536.jpg
20200529_164536.jpg [ 319.42 KiB | Viewed 696 times ]
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D503] Adding a digital optical out
PostPosted: 30 May 2020, 05:43 
Knows how to post
Knows how to post
User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2020, 20:32
Posts: 13
Location: United States
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Well I'm calling it a night for now... city is burning not to far away :roll: so time to head in and watch the news and drink some suds...

Looking at the board... UGH.. I don't think I realized how much was involved in taking off the the two main boards!! :shock: :crazy: :o

Looking at the top of the board (which sucks because the IC802 / LC78681E sits on the bottom/ underneath) and means I'd have to tear apart the ENTIRE damn machine.. ugh... so again, looking at the top, there's a possibly that the digital out runs out on the top side?

What do you guys think?? the red arrows line up to form a wide pic.

I think the DATAO is out maybe?

Stay safe everyone! The world is a crazy place right now!

Attachment:
20200529_212650.jpg
20200529_212650.jpg [ 487.11 KiB | Viewed 684 times ]

Attachment:
20200529_212600.jpg
20200529_212600.jpg [ 479.7 KiB | Viewed 684 times ]
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D503] Adding a digital optical out
PostPosted: 30 May 2020, 21:37 
Advanced fan
Advanced fan
User avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 05:59
Posts: 633
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 139 times
Either way, you will still need to remove the entire main board when it's time to solder in the optical transmitter unless you can just remove the back panel and you can solder it in place if there is enough access to stick a soldering iron in there. If you plan to remove the entire assembly, make sure to take a lot of pics so you can reassemble the player properly.

As for the DATAO, you can put your voltmeter on continuity mode to see if that pin leads back to optical output pad. If it does, that's a good start but it would still be helpful to see if everything leads back to pin 43 of the DSP chip.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [CLD-D503] Adding a digital optical out
PostPosted: 01 Jun 2020, 15:46 
Knows how to post
Knows how to post
User avatar

Joined: 26 May 2020, 20:32
Posts: 13
Location: United States
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Ok, some updates from the weekend!! I decided to try another quicker route first since I'm starting to get slammed with work crap and all this drama happening here in the states so I didn't have alot of time.

Instead or tearing the WHOLE machine apart, I decided to try something first (of which I must say I have no idea or clue about LOL).. I decided to try the RCA digital out first so...

1. I soldered a pin through the hole for the digital output and connected it and the ground to a 3ft RCA (high-end) shielded cable..
2. tested the player for all normal operations, everything works fine..

3. took the player inside the house and hooked it up to the system / DAC... nothing from the RCA output :thumbdown: :( :cry:

Did a bit of research on SPIDF / RCA / optical out brackets like these..
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01LWNKIKN/

And found that the RCA side usually has a dropping resistor and or a small cap in place / in line? I was tired at this point so I put it back together and will look at it more/ research during the week.

If anybody has suggestions, that would be great! Otherwise I might pickup my old SD-9200 for cheap somewhere or a get a BD player since I don't have one but then that's NO FUN!

Here's a quick vid I made.
https://youtu.be/YLkJGJeMjQs

Thanks again for all the comments and suggestions.. I'm still diggin into this.. just ran out of time.. after this week/weekend I'll be good!

Pray to the Exchange/Microsoft gods for me! :lol:
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: